Volkswagen 1303 S GSR

When you think of the legendary Volkswagen Beetle, a wide variety of memories come flooding back. Whether it’s rides in a Beetle convertible in the finest weather, driving school lessons in the 1960s or movies with Herbie and Dudu, this car mobilized more than two generations. It is often forgotten, that the Beetle was also successfully used in motorsports. In addition to the Porsche Salzburg team, which used the Salzburg-Käfer in rallies, there were above all many private race drivers in circuit racing, hill climbs and in slalom racing. Volkswagen didn’t serve this market directly, but left it to tuning companies such as Oettinger or Theo Decker (TDE).

Color scheme reminds of the BVB

In 1973, however, an special edition appeared that was clearly aimed at motorsports enthusiasts. Based on the 1303 S, the company from Wolfsburg created the GSR. This abbreviation stood for ‘Gelb-Schwarzer Renner’ (yellow-black racer). With this they took over the color scheme into the name, which today would only excite fans of soccer club BVB Dortmund. However, the BVB wasn’t as successful in 1973 as it is today. The bodyshell, including doors, fenders and a slotted front panel, were painted ‘Saturn Yellow’. Front and rear hoods in matte black serve as accent points. Trim parts, such as the window frames or the bumpers, normally finished in chrome, wear either black or yellow paint. From today’s perspective, it seems hard to imagine the debate in German Bundestag on the subject of “Does the garish color scheme of the Beetle GSR invite speeding?” Especially not against the background of the drivetrain used.

Speeding with 50 hp?

In fact, under the rear hood of the GSR was the same four-cylinder boxer engine as in the normal 1303 S. This produced 37 kW/50 hp and 106 Nm of torque from 1.6 liters of displacement. A Solex 34 downdraft carburetor was used for mixture preparation and a fully synchronized four-speed gearbox for power transmission. It reached 62 mph in a terrific 20 seconds, with a topspeed of 135 kph (83.8 mph). You can literally feel the need for the Bundestag discussions, can’t you? However, sports drivers could get official approval from Volkswagen to have the boxer engine boosted to up to 100 hp at specialist stores.

Only a few examples have survived

Standard equipment included a leatherette sports steering wheel, sports seats with more lateral support, and 5.5×15-inch steel wheels in a sporty design. On them sat the then equivalent of today’s low-profile tires, namely 175/70 HR 15 tires of the type Pirelli Cinturato. At the time, you couldn’t ask for more for the retail price of DM 7,650 in Germany. According to official figures, a total of 3,500 units were built. Today, depending on the source, only between 60 and 120 still exist in their original condition. In addition, there are various more or less well-made replicas of the GSR. While normal Volkswagen 1303 S are available for around € 18,000, the GSR we are showing in our gallery can currently be purchased from Chrome Cars for € 49,000.

Images: Chrome Cars

Volkswagen 1303 S GSR

Wenn man an den legendären Volkswagen Käfer denkt, kommen verschiedenste Erinnerungen hoch. Ob Fahrten im Käfer Cabriolet bei feinstem Wetter, Fahrschulstunden in den 1960ern oder Filme mit Herbie und Dudu, dieser Wagen mobilisierte mehr als zwei Generationen. Gern vergessen wird indes, dass der Käfer auch im Motorsport eingesetzt wurde. Neben dem Team von Porsche Salzburg, das den Salzburg-Käfer in Rallyes einsetzte, gab es vor allem viele Privatfahrer auf der Rundstrecke, bei Bergrennen und im Slalomsport. Diesen Markt bediente Volkswagen nicht direkt, sondern überließ Tunern wie Oettinger oder Theo Decker (TDE).

Farbgebung wie beim BVB

1973 erschien jedoch ein offizielles Sondermodell, das sich ganz klar an motorsportbegeisterte Kunden richtete. Auf Basis des 1303 S erstellten die Wolfsburger den GSR. Dieses Kürzel stand schlicht und einfach für ‚Gelb-Schwarzer Renner‘. Damit griff man die auffällige Farbgebung auf, die heute wohl nur noch BVB-Dortmund-Fans ernsthaft begeistern würde. Allerdings war dieser Fußballclub 1973 noch lange nicht so erfolgreich wie heute. Die komplette Rohkarosserie inklusive Türen und Kotflügeln sowie einem neuen, geschlitzten Frontblech erhielt Lack im Farbton ‚Saturngelb‘. Als Akzentpunkte dienen die vordere und hintere Haube in mattem Schwarz. Auch die sonst in Chrom ausgeführten Zierteile wie die Scheibenrahmen oder die Stoßstangen tragen entweder Schwarz oder Gelb. Kaum vorstellbar erscheint aus heutiger Sicht die Debatte des Deutschen Bundestages zum Thema: „Lädt die grelle Farbgebung des Käfer GSR zum Rasen ein?“ Vor allem nicht vor dem Hintergrund der verwendeten Technik.

Raserei mit 50 PS

Tatsächlich steckte unter der hinteren Haube des GSR das gleiche Vierzylinder-Boxertriebwerk wie im normalen 1303 S. Dieses holte aus 1,6 Litern Hubraum 37 kW/50 PS und 106 Newtonmeter Drehmoment. Ein Solex-34-Fallstromvergaser sorgte für die Gemischaufbereitung und ein vollsynchronisiertes Viergang-Getriebe für die Kraftübertragung. In grandiosen 20 Sekunden erreichte man Tempo 100, maximal bis zu 135 km/h. Man kann die Notwendigkeit der Bundestagsdiskussionen förmlich spüren, oder? Allerdings konnten Sportfahrer bei Volkswagen eine offizielle Freigabe erhalten, um den Boxermotor bei Fachbetrieben auf bis zu 100 PS leistungssteigern zu lassen.

Nur wenige Exemplare sind erhalten geblieben

Zur Serienausstattung gehörten ein Kunstleder-Sportlenkrad, Sportsitze mit mehr Seitenhalt sowie 15 Zoll große und 5,5 Zoll breite Stahlräder im Sport-Design. Darauf saß das damalige Equivalent zu heutigen Niederquerschnittsreifen, nämlich 175/70 HR 15 Pneus vom Typ Pirelli Cinturato. Mehr konnte man damals für den Neupreis in Höhe von 7.650 DM nicht verlangen. Insgesamt entstanden laut offiziellen Angaben 3.500 Exemplare. Heute existieren je nach Quelle nur noch zwischen 60 und 120 Stück im Originalzustand. Hinzu kommen diverse mehr oder weniger gut gemachte Nachbauten des GSR. Während normale Volkswagen 1303 S für rund 18.000 € erhältlich sind, kann man den von uns gezeigten GSR aktuell für 49.000 € bei Chrome Cars kaufen.

Bilder: Chrome Cars