Morgan Threewheeler P101

Production of the current Morgan Threewheeler will end next year. On this occasion the exclusive special edition P101 rolls to the dealers. Only 33 copies of this edition are produced. Morgan cites the expiring type approval of the S&S V-twin two-cylinder engine as the reason for the phase-out of the three-wheeled fun vehicle, which ends the possibility to get a registration for new cars of this type. P101 stands for the internal project code 101, under which the legendary 3-Wheeler from the 1920s was revived over a decade ago. Since its launch in 2011, Morgan has delivered more than 2,500 units worldwide.

To set the final vehicles apart from the normal series, Morgan has given them exclusive details and components. For example, customers receive a single-color tonneau cover, as seen on the 2016 EV3 concept car. This covers the interior when the car has to be parked outside and its asymmetrical design also allows the car to be used alone without a passenger. This asymmetrical approach is supported by the exhaust pipe coating, which is white on the left and black on the right. Lower-mounted Hella auxiliary headlamps and disc wheels in body color provide a sportier look.

In front of the driver is a small glass fly screen. Additional louvres in the hood, exposed rivet details and the P/101 markings round off the look. The basic colors are ‘Deep Black’ or ‘Satin White Silver’. Optionally available are the four graphic packages ‘The Belly Tank’, ‘The Dazzleship’, ‘The Aviator’ and ‘The Race Car’ (also shown in this order in our picture gallery). The price for the Morgan Threewheeler P101 in the UK is £ 45,000 plus tax. All 33 cars have already been pre-ordered by Morgan dealers. In addition to the special edition cars, production of the normal Threewheeler will continue until the end of 2021.

Images: Morgan Motor

Morgan Threewheeler P101

Im kommenden Jahr endet die Produktion des aktuellen Morgan Threewheeler. Aus diesem Anlass rollt die exklusive Sonderedition P101 zu den Händlern. Von diesem Sondermodell entstehen lediglich 33 Exemplare. Als Grund für das Auslaufen des dreirädrigen Spaßfahrzeugs nennt Morgan die ablaufende Typgenehmigung des V-Twin-Zweizylindermotors von S&S, die eine weitere Zulassungsfähigkeit des Threewheelers beendet. P101 steht dabei für den internen Projektcode 101, unter dem der legendäre 3-Wheeler aus den 1920er Jahren vor über einem Jahrzehnt wiederbelebt wurde. Seit der Markteinführung 2011 lieferte Morgan weltweit mehr als 2.500 Exemplare aus.

Um die finalen Fahrzeuge ein wenig von der normalen Serie abzugrenzen, gönnt Morgan ihnen exklusive Details und Komponenten. So erhalten die Kunden ein einfarbiges Tonneau-Cover, wie es 2016 bei der Konzeptstudie EV3 zu sehen war. Dieses verdeckt das Interieur, wenn der Wagen draußen geparkt werden muss und erlaubt durch seine asymetrische Gestaltung auch die alleinige Nutzung ohne Beifahrer. Diesen asymetrischen Ansatz unterstützt die Beschichtung der Auspuffrohre, die links weiß und rechts schwarz ausgeführt ist. Niedriger angebrachte Hella-Zusatzscheinwerfer und Scheibenfelgen in Wagenfarbe sorgen für eine sportlichere Optik.

Vor dem Fahrer sitzt ein kleiner gläserner Fliegenfänger. Zusätzliche Entlüftungsschlitze in der Motorhaube, sichtbare Nieten und die P/101-Markierungen runden die Optik ab. Als Grundfarben stehen ‚Deep Black‘ oder ‚Satin White Silver‘ zur Auswahl. Optional gibt es die vier Grafikpakete ‚The Belly Tank‘, ‚The Dazzleship‘, ‚The Aviator‘ und ‚The Race Car‘ (in dieser Reihenfolge auch in unserer Bildergalerie in der Seitenansicht zu sehen). Der Preis für den Threewheeler P101 beträgt in Großbritannien £ 45.000 plus Steuern. Alle 33 Fahrzeuge wurden bereits durch Morgan-Händler vorbestellt. Neben der Sonderserie geht auch die Produktion des normalen Threewheeler bis Ende 2021 weiter.

Bilder: Morgan Motor