Kimera Evo37

After the announcement two weeks ago, Kimera Automobili from Italy now officially presented the Evo37. This restomod is based on a legendary homologation car from the Group B era in the mid-1980s. At that time, brands such as Audi, Peugeot, Ford, Citroën, Mazda, Lada, Opel and Lancia were creating increasingly wild rally cars with plenty of power and big wings. In 1982, the Lancia 037 Rally, the last rear-wheel drive car to win the World Rally Championship constructors category (1983), rolled out of Italy. In addition it won the European Rally Championship in 1985. In order to make such successes possible, according to the regulations, the manufacturers only had to build and offer 200 road-legal examples of the respective car. Lancia manufactures altogether even 257 units of the 037 Rally, whereby this number includes the two evolution stages of the rally version.

Additional turbocharging for 505 hp

Although the 037 Rally is very rare, Kimera Automobili is now trying to do a restomod. This involves taking the complete vehicle apart. Then, all parts that are retained receive an extensive restoration. However, Kimera is also providing new components. In particular, the Italians are taking care of the 2.1-liter four-cylinder supercharged engine. In the road version of the 037 Rally, this longitudinally mounted engine produces 151 kW/205 hp, significantly less than the rally variants. The latter produced up to 400 hp, depending on the configuration. Together with Italtecnica, Kimera Automobili is now increasing the output to 377 kW/505 hp and 550 Nm of torque.

High-quality chassis and brake components

Claudio Lombardi, a technician who was already involved in the original 037 project, provides this extra power by adding turbocharging and an electric drive for the supercharger. Power is sent to the rear wheels through a manual or sequential transmission. To be able to translate the higher power into good driving dynamics, Kimera installs a suspension with two Öhlins dampers at the front and four at the rear as well as a carbon-ceramic brake system from Brembo. The large brake discs are mounted behind large wheels to which turbofan blades can be attached.

LED lighting, wide fenders and carbon bodywork

While the silhouette of the 037 Rally remains the same on the Evo37, there are various new details. For example, Kimera uses modern LED lights. The wheel arches received widenings in the style of the also legendary Lancia Delta HF Integrale. All body parts are made of carbon fiber. Inside, Kimera Automobili modernizes the dashboard taken from the Beta Montecarlo. A maximum of 37 examples of the Evo37 will be built at a base price of around € 480,000. However, this sum only covers the conversion; prospective buyers will have to provide a base vehicle themselves. If the Corona pandemic permits, the limited edition restomod will be shown for the first time at the Goodwood Festival of Speed. The first customer cars are to be delivered in September.

Images: Kimera Automobili

Kimera Evo37

Nach der Ankündigung vor zwei Wochen stellte Kimera Automobili aus Italien nun den Evo37 offiziell vor. Dieser Restomod basiert auf einem legendären Homologationsfahrzeug aus der Gruppe-B-Ära Mitte der 1980er Jahre. Damals erstellten Marken wie Audi, Peugeot, Ford, Citroën, Mazda, Lada, Opel und Lancia immer wildere Rallyeautos mit reichlich Leistung und großen Flügeln. Aus Italien rollte dabei 1982 mit dem Lancia 037 Rally das letzte Fahrzeug mit Hinterradantrieb heran, das die Konstrukteursmeisterschaft der Rallye-WM gewinnen konnte (1983). Hinzu kam 1985 der Titel in der Rallye Europameisterschaft. Um derartige Erfolge zu ermöglichen mussten die Hersteller laut Reglement lediglich 200 Exemplare des jeweiligen Autos mit Straßenzulassung bauen und anbieten. Lancia fertigte insgesamt sogar 257 Stück vom 037 Rally, wobei diese Zahl die beiden Evolutionsstufen der Rallyeversion mit umfasst.

Zusätzliche Turboaufladung für 505 PS

Obwohl der 037 Rally so selten ist, bemüht sich Kimera Automobili nun um einen Restomod. Das komplette Fahrzeug wird dabei auseinandergenommen. Anschließend erhalten alle Teile, die beibehalten werden, eine umfangreiche Restaurierung. Kimera sorgt jedoch zusätzlich für neue Komponenten. Insbesondere kümmern sich die Italiener dabei um das 2,1 Liter große Vierzylinder-Kompressortriebwerk. In der Straßenversion des 037 Rally leistet dieser längs eingebaute Motor 151 kW/205 PS und damit deutlich weniger als die Rallyevarianten. Letztere kamen je nach Ausbaustufe auf bis zu 400 PS. Gemeinsam mit Italtecnica erhöht Kimera Automobili nun die Leistung auf 377 kW/505 PS und 550 Newtonmeter Drehmoment.

Hochwertige Fahrwerks- und Bremskomponenten

Claudio Lombardi, ein Techniker, der bereits beim originalen 037-Projekt dabei war, sorgt durch eine zusätzliche Turboaufladung und einen elektrischen Antrieb des Kompressors für dieses Leistungsplus. Durch ein manuelles oder ein sequenzielles Getriebe gelangt die Kraft auf die Hinterräder. Um die höhere Leistung in gute Fahrdynamik umsetzen zu können, verbaut Kimera ein Fahrwerk mit vorn zwei und hinten vier Öhlins-Dämpfern und eine Carbon-Keramik-Bremsanlage von Brembo. Die dazugehörenden großen Bremsscheiben sitzen hinter groß dimensionierten Rädern, an deren Felgen Turbofanblades befestigt werden können.

LED-Beleuchtung, breite Kotflügel und Carbon-Karosserie

Während die Silhouette des 037 Rally beim Evo37 erhalten bleibt, gibt es diverse neue Details. So nutzt Kimera moderne LED-Leuchten. Die Radhäuser erhielten Verbreiterungen im Stil des ebenfalls legendären Lancia Delta HF Integrale. Alle Karosserieteile bestehen aus Kohlefaser. Innen modernisiert Kimera Automobili das vom Beta Montecarlo übernommene Armaturenbrett. Insgesamt entstehen maximal 37 Exemplare des Evo37 zu einem Grundpreis von rund 480.000 €. Diese Summe deckt jedoch nur den Umbau ab, ein Basisfahrzeug muss der Interessent selbst mitbringen. Sofern die Corona-Pandemie es zulässt, steht der limitierte Restomod erstmals live auf dem Goodwood Festival of Speed. Erste Kundenexemplare sollen im September ausgeliefert werden.

Bilder: Kimera Automobili