Škoda Sagitta

Škoda is currently looking back on rather unknown vehicles from their brand history in some press reports. Today the focus is on the Sagitta, which as a prototype paved the way to the lower middle class from 1936. Before that, the Škoda Popular, the best-selling model from Mladá Boleslav between the World Wars, grew in all dimensions. In addition to the dimensions, the engine capacity, performance and price also increased, creating space for a smaller entry-level model below this model series. Up until the 1920s, high prices and high taxation had made the automobile a toy for the rich population. In 1929, the worldwide economic crisis caused a significant cooling of the spirit of optimism that had previously prevailed in the ‘Golden 20s’. Škoda had shortly before put a new production hall with an automated assembly line into operation and had also developed new models that deviated from the classic ladder frame. Thanks to a lighter central tubular frame and independent suspension, they offered better handling, required less maintenance and were also significantly cheaper to produce, which also had a positive effect on prices.

Under the management of Josef Zubatý, work on new engines was carried out in the development department in the Prague district Letňany. In addition to the already proven four-cylinder four-stroke engines with water cooling, considerations and tests were also carried out with a V2 four-stroke engine and a two-stroke single-cylinder engine. The latter migrated to the prototype Škoda 112 in June 1933 in a version with 500 cubic centimeters, followed in the following months by an 850 cubic centimeters air-cooled V2 four-stroke engine and finally a V2 two-stroke engine of the type 222. However, these engines were not convincing in the Škoda management. They preferred the four-stroke principle, if at all, but commissioned the development of a new engine with two cylinders in line. Meanwhile, the 420 Standard series models presented in 1933 used a four-cylinder four-stroke engine, which one year later also powered the 418 Popular and the 420 Popular. As a result of the aforementioned use of assembly line production, the new price of the 418 Popular fell to 18,800 Czech crowns compared to 29,800 Czech crowns with the 420 Standard, but this still left room for another model.

The ordered two-cylinder inline engine was given the type code 215 and a displacement of 804 cubic centimeters, from which the team around Josef Zubatý initially tickled 11 kW/15 hp. By the time it was installed in the first vehicles, the displacement had grown to 844 cubic centimeters with the same power output. A three-speed transmission transferred the power to a transfer case on the rear axle. The Škoda team then created a 3.4 meter short prototype with a wheelbase of 2.1 meters, a width of 1.32 meters and a height of 1.42 meters around the drivetrain. It’s no longer possible to say exactly when the first units were completed. However, it must have been between 1936 and 1938. While the body shape of the first vehicle is also no longer known, two convertibles followed, as well as a two-door with four full seats and four coupés. These eight prototypes were given the model name ‘Sagitta’, which means ‘arrow’ in Latin, indicating the Škoda brand logo.

Due to the transaxle design and the narrow track width of only 1.05 meters, the Sagitta didn’t need a differential. Nevertheless, even on snow, the prototypes offered enough traction for the 16-inch wheels. Škoda specified a kerb weight of 580 kilograms, with a payload of 280 kilograms. In front of the aircooled engine was a four-bladed fan made of light alloy. Behind the ribbed cylinder heads, capillary thermometers with displays on the dashboard were also installed to keep the driver informed of the engine’s temperature at all times. While the Popular used VEH carburettors, the Sagitta used more modern BFRH carburettors from Solex with air filter and oil-soaked wire mesh. Preheating units were installed in the intake manifold, which made it easier to start the car even in wintery outside temperatures. With a topspeed of 70 kph (43.5 mph) and an average consumption of around 5.5 liters per 100 kilometers, the driving performance was more than convincing.

Of the eight vehicles built, only two still exist today. A brown-painted coupé is an integral part of the Škoda Muzeum in Mladá Boleslav. It underwent extensive restoration a few years ago and has since been used for classic car events in Europe. Škoda also owns another unrestored coupé in the warehouse of the factory museum, which is still waiting for its revival. While the Sagitta never went into series production, many details such as the engine located longitudinally in front of the front axle and the radiator grille integrated into the bonnet were put into production on the 995 Popular ‘Liduška’, which was launched in 1938. For just 17,300 Czech crowns, it was the new entry-level model in the Škoda family, but now fitted with a 995 cubic centimeters, watercooled four-cylinder engine with 16 kW/22 hp. By 1946, 1,478 units had been produced.

Images: Škoda

Škoda Sagitta

Škoda blickt aktuell in einigen Presseberichten auf eher unbekannte Fahrzeuge der Markengeschichte zurück. Heute beleuchtet man dabei den Sagitta, der als Prototyp ab 1936 den Weg in die Untere Mittelklasse bereitete. Zuvor wuchs der Škoda Popular, das zwischen den Weltkriegen beliebteste Modell aus Mladá Boleslav, in allen Dimensionen. Neben den Abmessungen stiegen auch Hubraum, Leistung und Preis an, wodurch unterhalb dieser Modellreihe Platz für ein kleineres Einstiegsmodell entstand. Noch bis in die 1920er Jahre hinein hatten hohe Preise und hohe Besteuerungen das Automobil zu einem Spielzeug der reichen Bevölkerung abgestempelt. 1929 sorgte die weltweite Wirtschaftskrise für eine deutliche Abkühlung der Aufbruchstimmung, die zuvor in den ‚goldenen 20ern‘ geherrscht hatte. Škoda hatte kurz zuvor eine neue Fertigungshalle mit Fließband in Betrieb genommen und zudem neue Modelle entwickelt, die vom klassischen Leiterrahmen abwichen. Durch einen leichteren Zentralrohrrahmen und Einzelradaufhängung boten sie besseres Fahrverhalten, geringeren Wartungsbedarf und waren zudem deutlich günstiger zu produzieren, was sich auch auf die Preise positiv auswirkte.

Unter der Leitung von Josef Zubatý fanden in der Entwicklungsabteilung im Prager Stadtteil Letňany Arbeiten an neuen Motoren statt. Neben den bereits bewährten Vierzylinder-Viertakt-Triebwerken mit Wasserkühlung fanden auch Überlegungen und Tests mit einem V2-Viertaktmotor und einem Zweitakt-Einzylindermotor statt. Letzterer wanderte im Juni 1933 in einer Version mit 500 Kubikzentimetern in den Prototyp Škoda 112. In den Folgemonaten folgten ein 850 Kubikzentimeter großer, luftgekühlter V2-Viertaktmotor und schließlich ein V2-Zweitaktmotor vom Typ 222. In der Firmenleitung von Škoda konnten diese Triebwerke jedoch nicht überzeugen. Man präferierte wenn überhaupt das Viertakt-Prinzip, gab aber die Entwicklung eines neuen Motors mit zwei Zylindern in Reihe in Auftrag. Derweil nutzten die 1933 präsentierten Modelle der Baureihe 420 Standard einen Vierzylinder-Viertaktmotor, der auch ein Jahr später den 418 Popular und den 420 Popular antrieb. Durch den bereits erwähnten Einsatz der Fließbandfertigung sank zwar der Neupreis des 418 Popular gegenüber dem 420 Standard von 29.800 auf 18.800 tschechische Kronen, ließ dadurch aber immer noch Platz nach unten für ein weiteres Modell.

Der beauftragte Zweizylinder-Reihenmotor erhielt das Typenkürzel 215 und einen Hubraum von 804 Kubikzentimetern, aus denen das Team rund um Josef Zubatý anfänglich 11 kW/15 PS kitzelte. Bis zum Einbau in erste Fahrzeuge wuchs der Hubraum auf 844 Kubikzentimeter bei gleicher Leistung. Ein Dreigang-Getriebe übertrug die Kraft zum Verteilergetriebe an der Hinterachse. Rund um den Antrieb entstand ein 3,4 Meter kurzer Prototyp mit 2,1 Metern Radstand, 1,32 Metern Breite und 1,42 Metern Höhe. Wann genau die ersten Exemplare fertiggestellt waren, lässt sich nicht mehr genau sagen. Es dürfte jedoch zwischen 1936 und 1938 gewesen sein. Während die Karosserieform des ersten Fahrzeugs nicht mehr bekannt ist, folgten anschließend noch zwei Cabrios, ein Zweitürer mit vier vollwertigen Sitzen und vier Coupés. Diese acht Prototypen erhielten den Modellnamen ‚Sagitta‘, was lateinisch ‚Pfeil‘ bedeutet und damit auf das Škoda-Markenlogo hindeutete.

Aufgrund der Transaxle-Bauweise und der schmalen Spurbreite von nur 1,05 Metern kam der Sagitta ohne Differenzial aus. Trotzdem boten die Prototypen selbst auf Schnee genügend Traktion für die 16 Zoll großen Räder. Als Leergewicht gab Škoda 580 Kilogramm an, wobei die Zuladung 280 Kilogramm betrug. Vor dem luftgekühlten Motor saß ein aus Leichtmetall angefertigter, vierblättriger Ventilator. Hinter den gerippten Zylinderköpfen verbaute man zudem Kapillar-Thermometer mit Anzeigen am Armaturenbrett, um den Fahrer jederzeit über den Temperaturhaushalt des Triebwerks zu informieren. Während beim Popular VEH-Vergaser zum Einsatz kamen, nutzte man im Sagitta modernere BFRH-Vergaser von Solex mit Luftfilter und ölgetränktem Drahtgitter. Im Ansaugkrümmer saßen Vorwärmeinheiten, was das Starten des Wagens auch bei winterlichen Außentemperaturen erleichterte. Mit 70 km/h Höchstgeschwindigkeit und rund 5,5 Litern Durchschnittsverbrauch auf 100 Kilometern konnten die Fahrleistungen mehr als überzeugen.

Von den acht gebauten Fahrzeugen existieren heute nur noch zwei. Ein braun lackiertes Coupé ist fester Bestandteil des Škoda Muzeum in Mladá Boleslav. Vor einigen Jahren erhielt es eine umfassende Restaurierung und wird seither auch für Oldtimerveranstaltungen in Europa genutzt. Zudem besitzt Škoda ein weiteres, unrestauriertes Coupé im Lager des Werksmuseums, das noch auf seine Wiedererweckung wartet. Während der Sagitta nie in Serie ging, brachte man viele Details wie das längs vor der Vorderachse angeordnete Triebwerk und den in die Motorhaube integrierten Kühlergrill beim 1938 eingeführten 995 Popular ‚Liduška‘ in Produktion. Für lediglich 17.300 tschechische Kronen stellte er das neue Einstiegsmodell in die Škoda-Familie dar, erhielt dafür allerdings einen 995 Kubikzentimeter großen, wassergekühlten Vierzylindermotor mit 16 kW/22 PS. Bis 1946 produzierte man 1.478 Exemplare.

Bilder: Škoda