Škoda 1000 MB Hajaja

In today’s middle class of cars, it is good manners for a manufacturer to accompany the sedan version with a station wagon. Some younger readers probably find it correspondingly difficult to understand that these types of cars were once treated as pure tool transporters for craftsmen and were therefore more likely to be classified as light commercial vehicles than family cars. Often, the conversions from a sedan to an estate car were only carried out subsequently by external coachbuilders and not ex works on the production line. Other brands introduced corresponding designs into the development process of new models, but then decided against series production for one reason or another.

Škoda is one of the latter. In the 1960s, not only a new production plant was built in Mladá Boleslav, but also the new 1000 MB was developed as a middle class vehicle with a rear engine. The first works had even started as early as 1959 with the Š 999 NOV project (nový osobní vůz / new passenger car). It was to become one of the most modern cars in the class up to one liter cubic capacity and also represented the first Škoda model with a self-supporting bodywork. Thanks to four doors, the sedan offered plenty of space and easy access to the seats. Over the years, the 1000 MBX and 1100 MBX were added as a Coupé version. Hardly known, however, are a 2+2 Roadster and a station wagon version, which were developed up to the prototype stage but never made it into production. Station wagons already had a certain tradition at Škoda. From today’s point of view, the Laurin & Klement 110 from the mid-1920s, whose rear body part could be replaced to use it as a van during the week and for family trips at the weekend, is considered to be the first forerunner. This was followed by light commercial vehicle versions of the Popular from 1934, the 1101 and 1102 Tudor with Station Wagon (STW) bodywork, the 1200/1201/1202 STW and finally the Octavia Combi, of which more than 54,000 examples were built between 1961 and 1971. Of these, 72 percent were exported.

Why didn’t the 1000 MB station wagon come into production, while the Octavia Combi broke sales records? Looking back at the history of this prototype, we can see that its existence actually began as a sedan with the consecutive number 34. After 31,000 test kilometers, Škoda modified the bodywork, which was more difficult than originally thought. In order to achieve the lowest possible boot floor, the four-cylinder engine was installed horizontally, with the cylinder head pointing to the left in the direction of travel. The water cooler was moved to the right side of the engine compartment. This layout looked as if the engine had gone to sleep. As a result, the prototype was quickly given the internal nickname ‘Hajaja’ – at the time the title of a popular bedtime story show on Czechoslovak radio. This installation position made service and maintenance work on the engine much more difficult than on the sedan, while cooling also proved to be difficult.

Hajaja extends to 4.15 meters in length, 1.62 meters in width and 1.40 meters in height with a wheelbase of 2.40 meters. With the rear seat folded down, the boot can hold objects up to 1.60 meters long. In addition, there is the normal trunk above the front axle. Škoda calculated a maximum payload of 380 kilograms, which was sufficient for four average adults and a little luggage. From 988 cubic centimeters of displacement, the four-cylinder engine in the rear generates 31 kW/45 hp. In June 1963, the prototype completed around 7,000 test kilometers, with a topspeed of 115 kph (71.5 mph) and an average consumption of 7.6 liters per 100 kilometers at an average speed of 74 kph (46 mph) measured in the process. The above-mentioned problems with the engine cooling system ultimately led to the discontinuation of the development programme. However, the unique prototype has been preserved until today and belongs to the jewels of the Škoda Muzeum in Mladá Boleslav.

Images: Škoda

Škoda 1000 MB Hajaja

In der heutigen Mittelklasse gehört es zum guten Ton, dass neben einer Limousine auch eine Kombiversion in den Preislisten der Hersteller auftaucht. Entsprechend schwer fällt es manchen jüngeren Lesern vermutlich zu verstehen, dass diese Autos einst als reine Werkzeugtransporter für Handwerker behandelt und daher eher den leichten Nutzfahrzeugen als den Familienautos zugerechnet wurden. Oftmals erfolgten entsprechende Umbauten von einer Limousine in einen Kombi erst nachträglich bei externen Karosseriebauern und nicht ab Werk am Produktionsband. Andere Marken brachten entsprechende Konstruktionen zwar in den Entwicklungsprozess neuer Modelle ein, entschieden sich dann aber aus dem einen oder anderen Grund gegen eine Serienfertigung.

Zu letzteren zählt auch Škoda. In den 1960er Jahren entstand in Mladá Boleslav nicht nur eine neue Fertigungsstätte, sondern auch der neue 1000 MB als Mittelklassefahrzeug mit Heckmotor. Erste Arbeiten hatten sogar bereits 1959 mit dem Projekt Š 999 NOV (nový osobní vůz/neuer Personenwagen) begonnen. Es sollte eines der modernsten Autos in der Klasse bis zu einem Liter Hubraum werden und stellte zudem das erste Škoda-Modell mit selbsttragender Karosserie dar. Dank vier Türen bot die Limousine viel Platz und guten Zugang zu den Sitzplätzen. Im Laufe der Jahre kam der 1000 MBX und 1100 MBX als Coupé-Variante hinzu. Kaum bekannt sind hingegen eine Roadster- und eine Kombi-Version, die bis ins Prototypenstadium hinein entwickelt wurden, jedoch nie den Weg in die Produktion schafften. Kombis hatten bei Škoda bereits eine gewisse Tradition. Aus heutiger Sicht gilt der Laurin & Klement 110 aus der Mitte der 1920er Jahre als erster Vorläufer, dessen hinterer Karosserieteil sich austauschen ließ, um ihn unter der Woche als Transporter und am Wochenende für Familienausflüge zu benutzen. Es folgten leichte Nutzfahrzeugversionen des Popular ab 1934, der 1101 und 1102 Tudor mit Station Wagon (STW) Aufbau, der 1200/1201/1202 STW und schließlich der Octavia Combi, von dem zwischen 1961 und 1971 mehr als 54.000 Exemplare entstanden sind. Davon gingen 72 Prozent in den Export.

Warum gelangte der 1000 MB als Kombi nicht in Produktion, während der Octavia Combi Verkausrekorde brach? Blicken wir auf die Geschichte dieses Prototypen zurück, so erkennen wir, dass seine Existenz eigentlich als Limousine mit der laufenden Nummer 34 begann. Nach 31.000 Testkilometern veränderte Škoda die Karosserie, was schwieriger war, als ursprünglich gedacht. Um einen möglichst tiefen Kofferraumboden zu erreichen, verbaute man den Vierzylindermotor liegend, wodurch der Zylinderkopf in Fahrtrichtung nach links zeigte. Auf die rechte Seite des Motorraums verlagerte man den Wasserkühler. Dieses Layout wirkte so, als habe sich das Triebwerk Schlafen gelegt. Dadurch erhielt der Prototyp schnell den internen Spitznamen ‚Hajaja‘ – seinerzeit der Titel einer beliebten Gute-Nacht-Geschichten-Sendung im tschechoslowakischen Radio. Durch diese Einbaulage gerieten Service- und Wartungs-Arbeiten am Motor deutlich schwieriger als bei der Limousine, während sich zudem die Kühlung als schwierig erwies.

Hajaja erstreckt sich auf 4,15 Meter Länge, 1,62 Meter Breite und 1,40 Meter Höhe bei einem Radstand von 2,40 Metern. Mit umgelegter Rückbank fasst der Kofferraum bis zu 1,60 Meter lange Gegenstände. Hinzu kam der normale Kofferraum über der Vorderachse. Als maximale Zuladung rechnete Škoda 380 Kilogramm aus, was für vier durchschnittliche Erwachsene und ein wenig Gepäck ausreichte. Aus 988 Kubikzentimetern Hubraum schöpft das Vierzylinder-Triebwerk im Heck 31 kW/45 PS. Im Juni 1963 absolvierte der Prototyp rund 7.000 Testkilometer, wobei eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 115 km/h und ein Durchschnittsverbrauch von 7,6 Litern Kraftstoff pro 100 Kilometern bei einer Durchschnittsgeschwindigkeit von 74 km/h gemessen wurden. Die oben erwähnten Probleme mit der Motorkühlung führten letztlich zur Einstellung des Entwicklungsprogramms. Der Prototyp ist jedoch bis heute erhalten geblieben und gehört zu den Schmuckstücken des Škoda Muzeum in Mladá Boleslav.

Bilder: Škoda