Shelby GT350R

The name Carroll Shelby comes up again and again for car fans. He made an international name for himself as the first American to win the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Afterwards he was directly or indirectly involved in various sports car developments. His own company, Shelby American, exists since 1962. This is where the legendary Cobras were created as Roadsters and Daytona Coupés. The Ford GT40 learned to run here and also the first model generation of the Ford Mustang received the necessary sharpness to be successful in GT racing. In fact, the Mustang was originally little more than a racy-looking but too heavy and underpowered car. After a proper diet and the installation of new engine and suspension components, the GT350 was ready to be a veritable sports car. For racing drivers and teams, the GT350R derived from it was also offered as a pure racing car.

From pony car to race car

Almost only the silhouette remained from the normal Ford Mustang as a Fastback Coupé. And although the car seemed more massive and sedate when parked next to a Cobra, it easily kept up with it on the track. Under the hood, the Shelby team installed the identically built 289cc V8 engine that was also used in the Daytona Coupé and the GT40. On the body, a front section made of fiberglass-reinforced plastic, a hood with air scoop, riveted rear side windows and a specially shaped Plexiglas rear window with vent in the upper section provided differentiation possibilities from the normal GT350. Lightweight American Torq Thrust wheels with Goodyear Blue Dot tires sat in the wheel wells. Inside, there were bucket seats and a rollbar. In addition, Shelby moved the spare wheel to the location of the rear seats. Only 34 examples of this wild racing version were produced.

Publicity-boosting dealer tour

That the efforts for a lighter and stronger Mustang version had paid off, various racing drivers proved. Beside numerous racing victories Shelby won the B Production Championship of the SCCA with the GT350R three times in succession. In addition, there were races with the Daytona Coupé and the GT40. As is well known, these also often ran off victorious. However, it annoyed the company boss that his great successes were hardly known anywhere in the world. The reason for this was the publication cycle of three months of automotive literature, which was still customary at the time. However, if a major racing victory only reached potential customers a quarter of a year later, this could hardly be used for advertising purposes. So the imaginative entrepreneur devised a new way to publicize his successes.

The Cobra Caravan

Together with his US dealer network, Shelby set up a four-week tour of 12 cities, during which the successful racing cars would be on public display. The sales outlets were simply to make sure they also had a few Shelby models on display. Some of them used the tour as a promotional opportunity to have Carroll Shelby hand over the keys to new car owners. He was on hand at almost every stop on the tour and was accompanied by a special truck, the Cobra Caravan. From the outside, the trailer proclaimed “America’s First International Competition Champion” in black and red letters on white and blue paint. The trailer’s two-story, enclosed body always contained at least four vehicles. In addition to a 427 Competition Cobra and a Daytona Coupé, these included a GT40 and a Shelby GT350R.

History of 5R213

The GT350R presented there was the car with chassis number 5R213. This had been completed by Shelby on November 10, 1965. Originally, the dealer Tasca Ford in East Providence, Rhode Island, had ordered this car. However, by this time, demand for the GT350R was already very limited. So Shelby had the words “SCCA B Production Champion” painted on the front fenders and put the car on the Cobra Caravan. After the dealer tour, the GT350R went to Tasca Ford after all, and then to three more Ford dealers in the northeastern United States after the christmas holidays. On June 28, 1966, Benito Lores exported the car and four sister cars to Peru. There, five private racing drivers had ordered them to compete in hill climbs and endurance races.

Restored three times

Interestingly, 5R213 was apparently not pushed too hard in the process. In 1984, car collectors Gary Nufer and Richard Cohen found the car and were able to bring it back to the US. It was complete and nearly undamaged. After two more owners, Jay Bentley had the GT350R restored for historic racing purposes by Cobra Automotive in 1998. Six years later, new owners Corey Lawson and Bruce Serene provided a concours-level restoration. After work was finished, they won First Place in the Popular Vote Class at SAAC 30. Two more owners later, John Brown’s Thoroughbred Restorations shop added another level of perfection. The car went on to win gold at the SAAC 42 Concours in Indianapolis, the Mid-America Shelby Nationals Concours in Tulsa and the MCA Grand Nationals in Kansas City in 2017. Now, Mecum Auctions will auction the car in Indianapolis between May 14 and 22.

Images: Mecum Auctions

Shelby GT350R

Der Name Carroll Shelby begegnet Autofans immer wieder. Als erster Amerikaner, der die 24 Stunden von Le Mans gewinnen konnte, machte er sich international einen Namen. Anschließend war er an diversen Sportwagenentwicklungen direkt oder indirekt beteiligt. Seine eigene Firma Shelby American existiert seit 1962. Hier entstanden die legendären Cobras als Roadster und Daytona Coupé. Der Ford GT40 lernte laufen. Und auch die erste Modellgeneration des Ford Mustang erhielt von Shelby die nötige Schärfe, um im GT-Rennsport erfolgreich zu sein. Tatsächlich war der Mustang ursprünglich nicht viel mehr als ein rasant aussehendes, aber zu schweres und leistungsarmes Auto. Nach einer ordentlichen Diät sowie dem Einbau von neuen Motor- und Fahrwerkskomponenten stand mit dem GT350 ein veritabler Sportwagen bereit. Für Rennfahrer und -teams bot man zudem die davon abgeleitete GT350R als reines Rennfahrzeug an.

Vom Pony Car zum Rennauto

Vom normalen Ford Mustang als Fastback Coupé – heute würden viele von einem ‚Schrägheck‘ sprechen – blieb fast nur die Silhouette übrig. Und obwohl der Wagen massiger und behäbiger wirkte, wenn man ihn neben einer Cobra parkte, hielt er auf der Strecke mit dieser locker mit. Das Shelby-Team verbaute unter der Haube den identisch aufgebauten 289er V8-Motor (4,7 Liter), der auch im Daytona Coupé und dem GT40 eingesetzt wurde. An der Karosserie sorgten ein aus Glasfaser-verstärktem Kunststoff gefertigter Frontbereich, eine Motorhaube mit Lufthutze, zugenietete hintere Seitenscheiben und eine speziell geformte Plexiglasheckscheibe mit Entlüftung im oberen Bereich für Unterscheidungsmöglichkeiten zum normalen GT350. In den Radhäusern saßen zudem leichte Räder von American Torq Thrust mit Goodyear Blue Dot Bereifung. Innen gab es Schalensitze und einen Überrollbügel. Zudem verlagerte man das Ersatzrad an die Stelle der Rückbank. Von dieser wilden Rennausführung entstanden insgesamt lediglich 34 Exemplare.

Werbewirksame Händlertour

Dass sich die Bemühungen um eine leichtere und stärkere Mustang-Version gelohnt hatten, stellten diverse Rennfahrer unter Beweis. Neben zahlreichen Rennsiegen errang Shelby mit der GT350R dreimal in Folge die B Production Meisterschaft der SCCA. Daneben fanden Einsätze mit dem Daytona Coupé und dem GT40 statt. Diese liefen bekanntlich ebenfalls oftmals siegreich ab. Allerdings ärgerte es den Firmenchef, dass seine großen Erfolge überall auf der Welt kaum Bekanntheit erlangten. Grund dafür war die damals noch übliche Erscheinungsfrequenz von automobiler Fachliteratur, die bei drei Monaten lag. Wenn jedoch ein großer Rennsieg erst ein Vierteljahr später bei der potenziellen Kundschaft ankam, konnte man das kaum noch werbewirksam nutzen. Also ersann der ideenreiche Unternehmer einen neuen Weg, um seine Erfolge publik zu machen.

Der Cobra Caravan

Gemeinsam mit seinem US-Händlernetz setzte Shelby eine vierwöchige Tour durch 12 Städte auf, bei der die erfolgreichen Rennfahrzeuge publikumswirksam zu sehen sein würden. Die Verkaufsstellen sollten dabei lediglich dafür sorgen, dass sie ebenfalls ein paar Shelby-Modelle im Showroom stehen hatten. Einige nutzten die Tour schließlich werbewirksam für sich, um neuen Fahrzeugeigentümern die Schlüssel direkt durch Carroll Shelby überreichen zu lassen. Dieser war auf fast allen Stationen der Tour live vor Ort und wurde dabei von einem speziellen Lastwagen, dem Cobra Caravan, begleitet. Von außen verkündete der Auflieger in schwarz-roten Buchstaben auf weiß-blauem Lack „America’s First International Competition Champion“. Im zweigeschossigen, geschlossenen Aufbau des Anhängers befanden sich immer mindestens vier Fahrzeuge. Neben einer 427er Competition Cobra und einem Daytona Coupé handelte es sich dabei um einen GT40 und einen Shelby GT350R.

Geschichte von 5R213

Bei dem dort präsentierten GT350R handelte es sich um das Fahrzeug mit Fahrgestellnummer 5R213. Dieses hatte Shelby am 10. November 1965 fertiggestellt. Ursprünglich hatte der Händler Tasca Ford in East Providence, Rhode Island, dieses Auto bestellt. Allerdings hielt sich zu diesem Zeitpunkt die Nachfrage nach der GT350R bereits sehr in Grenzen. Also ließ Shelby auf den vorderen Kotflügeln den Hinweis ‚SCCA B Production Champion‘ anbringen und stellte das Auto auf den Cobra Caravan. Nach der Händlertour ging die GT350R doch an Tasca Ford und anschließend nach den Weihnachtsfeiertagen zu drei weiteren Ford-Händlern im Nordosten der USA. Am 28. Juni 1966 exportierte Benito Lores den Wagen und vier Schwesterfahrzeuge nach Peru. Dort hatten fünf Privatfahrer diese Autos bestellt, um sich in Bergrennen und bei Langstreckenrennen zu messen.

Dreimal restauriert

Interessanterweise wurde 5R213 dabei offenbar nicht zu hart herangenommen. 1984 fanden die Autosammler Gary Nufer und Richard Cohen den Wagen und konnten ihn zurück in die USA bringen. Er war komplett und unbeschädigt. Nach zwei weiteren Besitzern ließ Jay Bentley den GT350R 1998 bei Cobra Automotive für historische Rennzwecke restaurieren. Sechs Jahre später sorgten die neuen Besitzer Corey Lawson und Bruce Serene für eine Restaurierung auf Concours-Niveau. Damit errangen sie den ersten Platz in der Publikumswertung beim SAAC Concours im Juli 2005. Zwei weitere Besitzer später sorgte die Werkstatt Thoroughbred Restorations von John Brown für nochmals mehr Perfektion. Anschließend gewann der Wagen Gold beim Concours SAAC 42 in Indianapolis, beim Concours der Mid-America Shelby Nationals in Tulsa sowie beim MCA Grand Nationals in Kansas City 2017. Nun versteigert Mecum Auctions das Fahrzeug in Indianapolis zwischen dem 14. und 22. Mai.

Bilder: Mecum Auctions