RBW EV Classic Roadster

Almost exactly two years ago we reported about RBW for the first time. This small British company plans to build electric roadsters with the bodywork of the classic MGB. They want to combine great shapes with modern technology. Since 2018 they have gained a lot of experience with some prototypes, which have been continuously developed further together with Continental Engineering Services (CES) and Zytec Automotive. Now the first pre-series car is finally on its wheels.

Anyone who is now panicking about the fact that classic MGBs are being stripped for the RBW EV Classic Roadster can breathe a sigh of relief. The company from the British Midlands uses completely rebuilt bodyshells from BMH (British Motor Heritage), which are specially adapted to the requirements of the electric drive developed and patented in-house. Together with CES and Zytec, who are also on board as technology partners in Formula E, a 70 kW electric motor for the rear axle and a battery pack consisting of six Hyperdrive units that fits perfectly under the actual hood were developed. This enables a range of 260 kilometers (160 miles). A battery pack with seven or eight Hyperdrive units is available for an additional charge. In this way, RBW achieves an excellent weight balance.

In addition to the drive, a customized chassis was also developed for the EV Classic Roadster. Thanks to independent suspension, coil springs and disc brakes all around, the driving characteristics reach completely new levels. In comparison to the MGB, the most modern wheel hubs and wheel bearings are used to significantly extend maintenance periods. Initially, a small series production of 30 units is planned at prices starting at £ 90,000 plus tax. The first deliveries are scheduled for early 2021. Standard equipment includes a digital round instrument on the left behind the steering wheel, an infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen monitor, Wifi and navigation system. A hardtop painted in the same color as the car is available on request in addition to the normal soft top.

However, RBW used the total development time of three years not only to make the EV Classic Roadster ready for production. At the same time, certification according to the European Regulation No. 100 of the Economic Commission took place, which confirms RBW as a recognised automotive worldwide manufacturer. The electric drivetrain of the EV Classic Roadster also fits under the bodies of other British classics without any problems. So also silent driving Jaguar E-Types, Austin-Healeys or Minis are conceivable. Already for 2021 the expansion of the production to a closed GT version of the EV Classic Roadster was announced.

Images: RBW EV Classic Cars

RBW EV Classic Roadster

Vor ziemlich genau zwei Jahren berichteten wir erstmalig über RBW. Diese kleine britische Firma plant den Bau von elektrischen Roadstern mit der Karosserie des klassischen MGB. Damit möchte man tolle Formen mit moderner Technologie gekonnt verknüpfen. Seit 2018 hat man viel Erfahrung mit einigen Prototypen gesammelt, die gemeinsam mit Continental Engineering Services (CES) und Zytec Automotive ständig weiterentwickelt wurden. Nun steht endlich das erste Vorserienauto auf den Rädern.

Wer jetzt Panik davor hat, dass für den RBW EV Classic Roadster klassische MGB ausgeschlachtet werden, kann direkt wieder aufatment. Die Firma aus den britischen Midlands nutzt komplett neu aufgebaute Rohkarosserien von BMH (British Motor Heritage), die eigens an die Anforderungen des im Haus entwickelten und patentierten Elektroantriebs angepasst werden. Gemeinsam mit CES und Zytec, die auch in der Formel E als Technologiepartner an Bord sind, entstanden ein 70 kW starker Elektromotor für die Hinterachse und ein aus sechs Hyperdrive-Einheiten bestehendes Akkupaket, das passgenau unter die eigentliche Motorhaube passt. Dieses ermöglicht eine Reichweite von 260 Kilometern. Gegen Aufpreis ist ein Akku mit sieben oder acht Hyperdrive-Einheiten erhältlich. Auf diese Weise erreicht RBW eine hervorragende Gewichtsbalance.

Neben dem Antrieb entstand für den EV Classic Roadster auch ein maßgeschneidertes Fahrwerk. Dank Einzelradaufhängung, Schraubenfedern und Scheibenbremsen rundum erreicht das Fahrverhalten völlig neue Bereiche. Im Vergleich zum MGB kommen modernste Radnaben und Radlager zum Einsatz, um die Wartungszeiträume deutlich zu verlängern. Anfänglich ist eine Kleinserienfertigung von 30 Exemplaren zu Preisen ab £ 90.000 zuzüglich Steuern geplant. Erste Auslieferungen sollen ab Anfang 2021 erfolgen. Zur Serienausstattung zählen dabei ein digitales Rundinstrument links hinter dem Lenkrad, ein Infotainment-System mit sieben Zoll großem Touchscreen-Monitor, WLAN und Navigationssystem. Auf Wunsch gibt es anstelle des Stoffverdecks ein in Wagenfarbe lackiertes Hardtop.

Die insgesamt dreijährige Entwicklungszeit nutzte RBW indes nicht nur, um den EV Classic Roadster produktionsreif zu machen. Zeitgleich erfolgte die Zertifizierung nach der Europäischen Regelung Nr. 100 der Wirtschaftskommission, wodurch man weltweiten Herstellerstatus erlangte. Der Elektroantrieb des EV Classic Roadster passt problemlos auch unter die Karosserien anderer britischer Klassiker. So sind auch lautlos fahrende Jaguar E-Type, Austin-Healey oder Mini denkbar. Bereits für 2021 kündigte man die Ausweitung der Produktion auf eine geschlossene GT-Variante des EV Classic Roadster an.

Bilder: RBW EV Classic Cars