Prince Skyline Sport

The Japanese car brand Prince Motor Company (Prince Jidōsha Kōgyō K.K.) is only known to a few Europeans. In fact, probably only those who have already dealt with the brand history of Nissan in greater depth. The company Tachikawa Hikōki, founded in 1936, set up after World War 2 in a factory building in Chōfu in the Japanese prefecture of Tokyo and changed the production programme from aircrafts to electric cars. After the first prototypes of light commercial vehicles had been built in 1946, series production of the Tama electric car began in 1947 and the independent Tokyo Electric Car Company (Tōkyō Denki Jidōsh) was founded. In 1949 it became ‘Tama Denki Jidōsha’ and finally, after Prince Akihito was appointed official heir to the throne of the Japanese Emperor, it was renamed to ‘Prince Jidōsha Kōgyō K.K.’. In the meantime, the company concentrated mainly on the production of luxury cars and light commercial vehicles. In August 1966, Nissan took over the brand and integrated the model lines Gloria and Skyline into its own portfolio, while the other vehicles were dropped from the range.

The Prince Skyline debuted on the Japanese market in 1957 as a four-door sedan. A 1.5-liter four-cylinder engine with 60 hp operated under the bonnet. This output was increased to 70 hp in October 1958. In the course of time Prince derived the 83 hp Gloria as well as a station wagon and a pickup version under the model name Skyway from the Skyline. The classic design was given round twin headlights in the Deluxe version from February 1959, which were also used in the basic version in the autumn of the same year. At the same time, a coupé created by Italian designer Giovanni Michelotti made its debut under the name Skyline Sport. However, it took another two years before series production began. As a result, this rather sporty vehicle could be fitted with the 1.9-liter engine, which was additionally offered from the autumn 1961 and was available in the sedan with 84 or 96 hp. In the Skyline Sport, the performance rose to 100 hp. A total of 33,759 units of the very first Skyline were built by 1963, although only very few of the Sport as coupé and convertible were built by hand due to the higher price.

For the Skyline Sport as a coupé, Prince asked for 185,000 Yen at the time, while the sedan was at 120,000 Yen. Converted to today’s time that would be about 20 million Yen or about 170,000 € adjusted for inflation. In return, the customers received a sports car with a topspeed of around 150 kph (93 mph), which was both visually and technically convincing for its time. A manual four-speed gearbox transmits the power to the rear-mounted DeDion axle with semi-elliptical leaf springs. At the front each wheel is hanging at two wishbones of different lengths with coil springs. The deceleration was provided by drum brakes all around, which was still common in automotive engineering at that time. All in all, the Prince employees probably made only 35 coupés and 25 convertibles, mostly by hand.

One of these coupés with a surprisingly low mileage of less than 1,200 kilometers is currently for sale in the private sales part on the website of BH Auction. Exactly this vehicle was on display at the Concours d’Elegance at the Villa d’Este in 2009, where the cream-colored bodywork caused a sensation. After all, it was the first Japanese car that ever competed in this Concours event. Especially the ‘Chinese Eyes’ double headlights which are arranged diagonally next to each other, are a detail that was taken up by several other manufacturers of the time. The price for the Prince Skyline Sport is available on request at BH Auction.

Images: BH Auction

Prince Skyline Sport

Die japanische Automarke Prince Motor Company (Prince Jidōsha Kōgyō K.K.) ist nur wenigen Europäern ein Begriff. Eigentlich wohl nur jenen, die sich schon einmal intensiver mit der Markengeschichte von Nissan auseinandergesetzt haben. Das 1936 begründete Unternehmen Tachikawa Hikōki richtete sich nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in einer Fabrikhalle in Chōfu in der japanischen Präfektur Tokio ein und wechselte das Produktionsprogramm von Flugzeugen neu auf Elektroautos aus. Nachdem 1946 erste Prototypen leichter Nutzfahrzeuge entstanden waren, begann ab 1947 die Serienproduktion des Elektrofahrzeugs Tama und die Gründung der eigenständigen Firma Tokyo Electric Car Company (Tōkyō Denki Jidōsh), aus der 1949 ‚Tama Denki Jidōsha‘ und schließlich nach der Ernennung von Prinz Akihito zum offiziellen Thronfolger des japanischen Kaisers die Marke ‚Prince Jidōsha Kōgyō K.K.‘ wurde. Inzwischen konzentrierte man sich hauptsächlich auf die Herstellung von Luxusautos und leichten Nutzfahrzeugen. Im August 1966 übernahm Nissan die Firma und integrierte die Modellreihen Gloria und Skyline ins eigene Portfolio, während die anderen Fahrzeuge aus dem Programm fielen.

Der Prince Skyline debütierte 1957 auf dem japanischen Markt als viertürige Limousine. Unter der Motorhaube arbeitete ein 1,5 Liter großes Vierzylindertriebwerk mit 60 PS. Diese Leistung steigerte man im Oktober 1958 auf 70 PS. Im Laufe der Zeit leitete Prince den 83 PS starken Gloria sowie die Kombi- und Pickup-Versionen unter dem Modellnamen Skyway vom Skyline ab. Das klassische Design erhielt in der Deluxe-Ausstattung ab Februar 1959 runde Doppelscheinwerfer, die im Herbst des gleichen Jahres auch der Basisausstattung zugute kamen. Gleichzeitig debütierte ein vom italienischen Designer Giovanni Michelotti gestaltetes Coupé unter dem Namen Skyline Sport. Bis zur Serienumsetzung vergingen allerdings noch zwei Jahre. Dadurch konnte man für dieses eher sportliche Fahrzeug den ab Herbst 1961 zusätzlich angebotenen 1,9-Liter-Motor nutzen, der in der Limousine mit 84 oder 96 PS erhältlich war. Im Skyline Sport stieg die Leistung auf 100 PS. Insgesamt entstanden bis 1963 33.759 Exemplare des allerersten Skyline, wobei vom Sport als Coupé und Cabriolet aufgrund des höheren Preises nur sehr wenige Fahrzeuge von Hand gebaut wurden.

Für den Skyline Sport als Coupé rief Prince damals 185.000 Yen auf, während die Limousine bei 120.000 Yen lag. Umgerechnet auf die heutige Zeit wären das inflationsbereinigt rund 20 Millionen Yen oder etwa 170.000 €. Dafür erhielt man einen rund 150 km/h schnellen Sportwagen, der für die damalige Zeit sowohl optisch als auch technisch überzeugen konnte. Ein manuelles Viergang-Getriebe überträgt die Kräfte auf die hinten untergebrachte DeDion-Achse mit halbelliptischen Blattfedern. Vorn sitzen an jedem Rad zwei unterschiedlich lange Querlenker mit Schraubenfedern. Für die Verzögerung sorgten rundum Trommelbremsen, was zu dieser Zeit im Automobilbau noch üblich war. Insgesamt fertigten die Prince-Mitarbeiter wohl lediglich 35 Coupés und 25 Cabriolets überwiegend in Handarbeit an.

Eines dieser Coupés mit einer überraschend niedrigen Laufleistung von nicht einmal 1.200 Kilometern verkauft das japanische Auktionshaus BH Auction aktuell auf seiner Webseite. Genau dieses Fahrzeug stand 2009 auf dem Concours d’Elegance an der Villa d’Este, wo die cremefarbene Karosserie für Aufsehen sorgte. Es war immerhin das erste japanische Auto, das jemals bei diesem Wettbewerb antrat. Speziell die schräg nebeneinander angeordneten ‚Chinese Eyes‘-Doppelscheinwerfer sind ein Detail, das von diversen anderen Herstellern aufgegriffen wurde. Den Preis für den Prince Skyline Sport gibt BH Auction nur auf Anfrage bekannt.

Bilder: BH Auction