Mitsuoka Buddy

The Japanese low-volume manufacturer Mitsuoka produces their first SUV. Based on the current Toyota RAV-4, the designers are creating a vehicle with retro look in the usual way. The sources of inspiration are American SUVs of the late 1970s and early 1980s. This gives the Buddy an upright front end with plenty of chrome decoration and two headlights stacked one above the other on each side. LED daytime running lights are integrated in the central, wide strip of the radiator grille. Further down there also is a chrome bumper.

Mitsuoka designed sharper contours for the hood. The front fenders were also replaced with new parts with fake air outlets in the upper area. The rear receives an equally clear modification. An attachment with middle part in contrasting color is mounted to the trunk lid, which also integrates a part of the chrome rear bumper. This extends far around the rear corners of the car. The license plate moves down into the rear bumper. The area around the sides of the tailgate also has a new design with vertical LED taillights.

Mitsuoka doesn’t change anything in the interior or in the drive technology. Fans of the small brand already know this approach from various other models. While the pictures shown so far are still only computer sketches, the Buddy is scheduled to officially debut on November 26. Then there will probably be more detailed information about prices and delivery times as well.

Images: Mitsuoka

Mitsuoka Buddy

Beim japanischen Kleinserienhersteller Mitsuoka entsteht erstmalig ein SUV. Auf Basis des aktuellen Toyota RAV-4 erstellen die Designer in gewohnter Weise ein Fahrzeug im Retrolook. Die Inspirationsquellen sind dabei amerikanische Geländewagen der späten 1970er und frühen 1980er Jahre. So erhält der Buddy eine aufrechte Frontpartie mit reichlich Chromschmuck und zwei übereinander angeordneten Scheinwerfern. In der zentralen, breiten Leiste des Kühlergrills sind LED-Tagfahrleuchten integriert. Weiter unten befindet sich eine angedeutete Chromstoßstange.

In die Motorhaube integrierte Mitsuoka schärfere Konturen. Auch die vorderen Kotflügel tauschte man gegen Neuteile mit Fake-Luftauslässen im oberen Bereich aus. Eine ebenso deutliche Modifikation erhält das Heck. Die Kofferraumklappe kommt mit einem Aufsatz, der mittig in Kontrastfarbe lackiert ist und im unteren Bereich die Chromstoßstange integriert. Diese zieht sich weit um die Ecken herum. Das Kennzeichen wandert hinunter in die Heckschürze. Auch der Bereich rund seitlich der Heckklappe zeigt sich in neuem Design mit senkrechten LED-Rückleuchten.

Sowohl am Interieur als auch an der Antriebstechnik verändert Mitsuoka nichts. Dieses Vorgehen kennen Fans der kleinen Marke bereits von diversen anderen Modellen. Während es sich bei den gezeigten Bildern bislang noch um Computer-Retuschen handelt, soll der Buddy am 26. November offiziell debütieren. Dann gibt es vermutlich auch genauere Informationen zu den Preisen und Lieferfristen.

Bilder: Mitsuoka