Laurin & Klement FC

After Laurin & Klement had achieved good sales figures and initial racing successes with motorcycles, the company also turned its attention to automobiles from 1905. Naturally, company founders Václav Laurin and Václav Klement were also interested in using their new developments in motor racing. Immediately after the first-generation Voiturette A was on its wheels, work began on a thoroughbred racing car. This 9 hp Voiturette B was entered in the 1906 Semmering race in Austria. Despite a topspeed of only 45 kph (28 mph), which is low from today’s perspective, L&K took first, second and fourth place.

Otto Hieronimus developed the FC

Further racing successes at home and abroad made Laurin & Klement famous beyond the Czech borders. The particularly sporty FC was based on the F series cars and exactly 19 examples were built between 1907 and 1909. Constant further developments under the direction of chief engineer and designer Otto Hieronimus meant that they all differed from one another in more or less detail. Even the inline four-cylinder engines were different, with displacements ranging from two to 2.5 liters, depending on the planned racing event. Their power was distributed to the rear wheels by a three-speed gearbox.

Successful racing car

In March 1908, L&K sent several FCs in various versions to the Zbraslav–Jíloviště hillclimb race to participate in different classes. The factory team returned home with a total of six class wins, five second places and one third place. This was followed by a double victory in the two-liter class at Ries near Graz and a class win by Otto Hieronimus in the long-distance race from St. Petersburg to Moscow over a total of 686 kilometers (426 miles). Further victories in the same year included the Prinz-Heinrich-Fahrt in Germany. Here the route led from Berlin via Kiel, Hamburg, Hanover, Cologne and Trier to Frankfurt am Main – a total of 2,200 kilometers (1,367 miles)!

From FC to FCS and FCR

The development team around Otto Hieronimus further developed the FC into the FCS. Its engine was enlarged to 3.5 liters and overhead valves were installed. At the Semmering race, this again resulted in a triple victory in its class. In the fall of 1908, Hieronimus drove a car on the Brooklands oval course to a topspeed of 118.72 kph (73.77 mph), which was a new record for this displacement class. As the most radical expansion stage, the FCR debuted in 1909 with a narrower body, arrow-shaped radiator and a 5.6-liter powerplant. This now provided 74 kW/100 hp, which was sufficient for a topspeed of 140 kph (87 mph). Another class win was achieved at Semmering, and overall victories were even scored at the hillclimbs Zbraslav–Jíloviště and Trieste–Opicina in 1911.

Count Kolowrat-Krakowsky and the Type F

An anecdote from the early days of Czech brand history involves Count Alexander Kolowrat-Krakowsky, who grew up in America. He was actually supposed to study agriculture in Switzerland at his father’s request. Instead, however, he liked to work on cars and raced under a false name. His friends called him “Count Kilowatt”. On October 10, 1908, he wanted to take part in the hillclimb race in Gaillon, France, under the pseudonym Doconald. For this purpose, he had commissioned the L&K factory to send his FC as box freight by rail. However, the train was delayed. Instead of leaving without having achieved anything, the Count overnight prepared his private Laurin & Klement Type F for the race. This had alrady covered 18,000 kilometers, which was high mileage for the time. By unscrewing all unnecessary body parts, he reduced the weight enough to make it competitive. He won his class – but this meant he could no longer keep his racing activities a secret from his father.

Images: Škoda

Laurin & Klement FC

Nachdem Laurin & Klement mit Motorrädern gute Verkaufszahlen und erste Rennerfolge eingefahren hatte, wandte sich das Unternehmen ab 1905 auch Automobilen zu. Natürlich interessierten sich die Firmengründer Václav Laurin und Václav Klement auch für den Einsatz ihrer Neuentwicklungen im Motorsport. Direkt nachdem das Erstlingswerk Voiturette A auf seinen Rädern stand, begannen Arbeiten an einem reinrassigen Rennfahrzeug. Diesen 9 PS starken Voiturette B setzte man 1906 beim Semmering-Rennen in Österreich ein. Trotz einer aus heutiger Sicht niedrigen Höchstgeschwindigkeit von nur 45 km/h belegte L&K den ersten, zweiten und vierten Platz.

Otto Hieronimus entwickelte den FC

Weitere Rennerfolge im In- und Ausland machten Laurin & Klement über die tschechischen Grenzen hinaus bekannt. Auf Basis der Baureihe F entstand der besonders sportliche FC, von dem zwischen 1907 und 1909 exakt 19 Exemplare gebaut wurden. Durch konstante Weiterentwicklungen unter Leitung des Chefingenieurs und Konstrukteurs Otto Hieronimus unterschieden sie sich alle in mehr oder weniger Details voneinander. Selbst die Reihenvierzylindermotoren waren unterschiedlich, da sie je nach geplanter Rennveranstaltung zwischen zwei und 2,5 Litern Hubraum aufwiesen. Ihre Leistung verteilte ein Dreigang-Getriebe auf die Hinterräder.

Erfolgreiches Rennfahrzeug

Im März 1908 entsandte L&K mehrere FC in verschiedenen Hubraumklassen zum Bergrennen Zbraslav–Jíloviště. Mit insgesamt sechs Klassensiegen, fünf zweiten und einem dritten Platz kehrte das Werksteam zurück. Es folgten ein Doppelsieg in der Zwei-Liter-Klasse in Ries bei Graz sowie ein Klassensieg durch Otto Hieronimus bei der Fernfahrt von St. Petersburg nach Moskau über insgesamt 686 Kilometer. Weitere Siege im gleichen Jahr umfassten die Prinz-Heinrich-Fahrt in Deutschland. Hier führte der Streckenverlauf von Berlin über Kiel, Hamburg, Hannover, Köln und Trier nach Frankfurt am Main – insgesamt 2.200 Kilometer!

Vom FC zum FCS und FCR

Die Entwicklungsmannschaft rund um Otto Hieronimus entwickelte den FC zum FCS weiter. Hierfür vergrößerte man den Motor auf 3,5 Liter Hubraum und verbaute obenliegende Ventile. Beim Semmering-Rennen gelang damit erneut ein Dreifachsieg in der Klasse. Hieronimus fuhr im Herbst 1908 einen Wagen auf dem Ovalkurs von Brooklands zu einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 118,72 km/h, was ein neuer Rekord für diese Hubraumklasse war. Als radikalste Ausbaustufe debütierte 1909 der FCR mit schlankerer Karosserie, pfeilförmigen Kühler und einem 5,6 Liter großen Triebwerk. Damit standen nun 74 kW/100 PS bereit, was für 140 km/h Maximaltempo ausreichte. Am Semmering gelang ein weiterer Klassensieg, bei den Bergrennen Zbraslav–Jíloviště sowie Trieste–Opicina waren es 1911 sogar Gesamtsiege.

Graf Kolowrat-Krakowsky und der Typ F

Eine Anekdote aus der Frühzeit der tschechischen Markengeschichte umfasst den in Amerika aufgewachsenen Alexander Graf Kolowrat-Krakowsky. Eigentlich sollte er auf Wunsch seines Vaters ein Agrarstudium in der Schweiz absolvieren. Stattdessen schraubte er jedoch an Autos herum und fuhr unter falschem Namen Rennen. Seine Freunde nannten ihn „Graf Kilowatt“. Am 10. Oktober 1908 wollte er unter dem Pseudonym Doconald am Bergrennen im französischen Gaillon teilnehmen. Hierfür hatte er das L&K-Werk beauftragt, seinen FC per Eisenbahn als Kistenfracht transportieren zu lassen. Allerdings verspätete sich der Zug. Anstatt unverrichteter Dinge wieder abzureisen, bereitete der Graf seinen privaten Laurin & Klement Typ F über Nacht für das Rennen vor. Dieser hatte bereits 18.000 Kilometer zurückgelegt, was für die damals sehr viel Laufleistung war. Durch Abschrauben aller Anbauteile verringerte er das Gewicht des Typ F soweit, dass er konkurrenzfähig war. Er gewann seine Klasse – konnte dadurch jedoch seine Rennsportaktivitäten nicht mehr vor seinem Vater geheimhalten.

Bilder: Škoda