Koenigsegg CCR

When Koenigsegg first appeared at major car shows at the beginning of the current millennium, expectations were limited. Too many new manufacturers had already tried to gain a foothold in the car market with a sports car before. No one could have guessed what would happen in the following 20 years. In fact, the enterprising entrepreneur Christian von Koenigsegg not only managed to find the first customers for his cars. He also steadily expanded his production capacities and still continues to impress with ever new innovations. Only six examples of the CC 8S presented in Paris in 2000 were built until 2003. In the background, the Koenigsegg team was already working on a further developed car.

Fastest production car for three months

The CC 8S received an entry in the Guinness Book of Records as the most powerful production car at the time due to its 655 hp V8 supercharged engine. Its successor CCR presented in Geneva in 2004 easily surpassed this figure. With the same displacement of 4.7 liters, Koenigsegg now achieved 593 kW/806 hp and a maximum torque of 920 Nm. In combination with the manual six-speed transmission, it sprinted from a standstill to 62 mph in 3.2 seconds. It reached over 245 mph according to factory specifications. On the circular track at Nardó in Italy, the undulating asphalt on February 28, 2005, allowed it to reach 387.87 kph (241.011 mph). Three months later, Bugatti broke the barrier of 400 kph with the Veyron. This marked the beginning of the still ongoing feud over the world’s fastest production car, which Koenigsegg would soon like to conclude with the Jesko Absolut.

Modifications compared to the CC 8S

In addition to the extra power, the CCR received a new suspension, better brakes, a titanium exhaust and modified bodywork compared to the CC 8S. Koenigsegg didn’t change the basic dimensions by a millimeter. Fine-tuning of the shape, however, provided more downforce. A rear wing was available on request, and was fitted to most of the 14 CCR models built. The dihedral synchro-helix actuated doors, on the other hand, which open only slightly outward and then forward and upward, weren’t changed. Below the carbon-fiber body with its huge hoods, the carbon-fiber monocoque was retained. This made the car not only particularly torsionally stiff, but also one of the safest supercars in the event of an accident. A new feature was a special sticker on the huge hood.

How did the Ghost come to be?

The sticker shows a ghost, which was originally seen on the aircraft of the Swedish flying squadron “Johan Röd”. Koenigsegg had originally produced its cars on an old farm outside Ängelholm, which fell victim to a fire in early 2003. After some searching, he found the hangar of the aforementioned flying squadron at Ängelholm airport as a replacement production site. In addition, he was able to acquire an office building next to it and the military runway that was no longer in use. The latter has since served as a run-in and test track for new sports cars. Since members of the former squadron approved of the new use of their hangar for building supercars, they asked Christian von Koenigsegg to put their former mascot, the ghost, on his cars. All new cars that have been created there since then therefore display this additional logo.

Lava Orange as a popular paint color

The most frequently ordered paint color for the Koenigsegg CCR proved to be the presentation color. When the car first shown to the public at the 2004 Geneva Motor Show, it wore the color ‘Lava Orange’. In the end, six more customer cars were painted this way. However, the color shades differ slightly from one another because all the cars were painted by hand and the color was individually mixed beforehand. The Geneva presentation car bears the chassis number 011 and was used for various press photos after the show. Inside this CCR shows itself with black leather and Alcantara, including orange stitching. It wasn’t until May 23, 2006 that 011 changed hands to a Norwegian car collector who stored his sports cars in a French chateau.

011 goes under the hammer at RM Sotheby’s

By 2010, only just over 1,100 kilometers of total mileage had been accumulated. After the CCR was briefly for sale at the Auto Salon Singen, it subsequently turned up the at the classic car dealer Bratke in Düsseldorf and finally at Michael Fröhlich. After sitting in his showroom for quite a while, the supercar moved to Esser Automotive, the official Koenigsegg dealer in Alsdorf near Aachen. There, much-needed service work was carried out, as well as an upgrade to the eleven-spoke wheels of the successor model CCX. After a short while with a new owner, 011 is now up for auction at RM Sotheby’s as part of the Milan 2021 auction. Experts expect a hammer price of between € 720,000 and € 760,000.

Images: RM Sotheby’s, Keno Zache

Koenigsegg CCR

Als Koenigsegg Anfang des aktuellen Jahrtausends erstmals auf großen Automessen auftauchte, hielten sich die Erwartungen in Grenzen. Zuviele neue Hersteller hatten sich zuvor bereits daran versucht, mit einem Sportwagen auf dem Automarkt Fuß zu fassen. Was in den folgenden 20 Jahren geschehen würde, konnte niemand erahnen. Tatsächlich schaffte es der umtriebige Unternehmer Christian von Koenigsegg nicht nur, erste Kunden für sein Auto zu finden. Er erweiterte zudem stetig seine Produktionskapazitäten und beeindruckt bis heute durch immer neue Innovationen. Vom im Jahr 2000 in Paris präsentierten CC 8S entstanden bis 2003 lediglich sechs Exemplare. Im Hintergrund arbeitete die Koenigsegg-Mannschaft bereits an einer Weiterentwicklung.

Schnellstes Serienauto für drei Monate

Bereits der CC 8S erhielt aufgrund seines 655 PS starken V8-Kompressormotors einen Eintrag im Guinness Buch der Rekorde als damals leistungsstärkstes Serienauto. Diesen Wert überbot der 2004 auf dem Genfer Autosalon präsentierte Nachfolger CCR mühelos. Mit dem gleichen Hubraum von 4,7 Litern erzielte Koenigsegg nun bereits 593 kW/806 PS und ein maximales Drehmoment von 920 Newtonmetern. In Kombination mit dem manuellen Sechsgang-Getriebe spurtete der Supersportwagen in 3,2 Sekunden aus dem Stand auf Tempo 100 und erreichte laut Werksangaben mehr als 395 km/h. Auf der Kreisbahn von Nardó in Italien reichte es durch den welligen Asphalt am 28. Februar 2005 für 387,87 km/h. Rund drei Monate später durchbrach Bugatti mit dem Veyron die 400.km/h-Schallmauer. Indirekt begann damit die immer noch andauernde Fehde um das schnellste Serienauto der Welt, die Koenigsegg bald mit dem Jesko Absolut abschließen möchte.

Modifikationen im Vergleich zum CC 8S

Neben der Mehrleistung erhielt der CCR im Vergleich zum CC 8S ein neues Fahrwerk, bessere Bremsen, einen Titanauspuff und eine modifizierte Karosserie. Die Grundabmessungen veränderte Koenigsegg dabei in keinem Millimeter. Feinarbeit an der Form sorgte jedoch für mehr Anpressdruck. Auf Wunsch gab es zusätzlich einen Heckflügel, der an den meisten der letztlich 14 gebauten CCR-Exemplare verbaut wurde. Nicht verändert wurden hingegen die Dihedral-Synchro-Helix-Türen, die nur leicht nach außen und dann nach vorn und oben öffnen. Unterhalb der aus Carbon gefertigten Karosserie mit den riesigen Hauben blieb es beim Kohlefaser-Monocoque. Dadurch war der Wagen nicht nur besonders verwindungssteif, sondern auch einer der sichersten Supersportwagen im Falle eines Unfalls. Neu war ein besonderer Aufkleber auf der riesigen Motorhaube.

Wie kam es zum Geist?

Dieser Sticker zeigt einen Geist, der ursprünglich auf den Flugzeugen der schwedischen Fliegerstaffel „Johan Röd“ zu sehen war. Koenigsegg hatte ursprünglich auf einem alten Bauernhof außerhalb von Ängelholm seine Autos produziert, der Anfang 2003 einem Brand zum Opfer fiel. Als Ersatzproduktionsstätte fand er nach einiger Suche den Hangar der bereits erwähnten Flugstaffel am Flughafen von Ängelholm. Zudem konnte er ein daneben liegendes Bürogebäude und den nicht mehr genutzten Militär-Runway erwerben. Letzterer dient seither als Einfahr- und Teststrecke für neue Sportwagen. Da Mitglieder der ehemaligen Staffel die neue Nutzung ihres Hangars für den Bau von Supersportwagen guthießen, baten sie Christian von Koenigsegg ihr ehemaliges Maskottchen, den Geist, auf seinen Autos anzubringen. Alle Neuwagen, die seither dort entstanden sind zeigen daher dieses zusätzliche Logo.

Lava Orange als beliebte Lackfarbe

Als am häufigsten bestellte Lackfarbe erwies sich beim Koenigsegg CCR wieder einmal die Präsentationsfarbe. Als der Wagen auf dem Genfer Automobilsalon 2004 erstmals öffentlich gezeigt wurde, trug er den Farbton ‚Lava Orange‘. Letztlich wählten sechs weitere Kunden ihr Fahrzeug so. Allerdings weichen die Farbschattierungen minimal voneinander ab, da alle Autos von Hand lackiert wurden und man jeweils zuvor den Farbton anmischte. Das Genfer Präsentationsauto trägt die Fahrgestellnummer 011 und diente nach der Messe für diverse Pressefotos. Innen zeigt sich dieser CCR mit schwarzem Leder und Alcantara, vernäht durch orangefarbene Nähte. Erst am 23. Mai 2006 wechselte 011 in die Hände eines norwegischen Autosammlers, der seine Sportwagen in einem französischen Chateau einlagerte.

011 kommt bei RM Sotheby’s unter den Hammer

Bis ins Jahr 2010 kamen lediglich knapp über 1.100 Kilometer Laufleistung insgesamt zusammen. Nachdem der CCR kurz beim Auto Salon Singen zum Verkauf stand, tauchte er anschließend beim Oldtimerhändler Bratke in Düsseldorf und schließlich bei Michael Fröhlich auf. Nach einigen Jahren im Stillstand wechselte der Supersportwagen zu Esser Automotive, dem offiziellen Koenigsegg-Händler in Alsdorf bei Aachen. Dort erfolgten dringend notwendige Service-Arbeiten sowie ein Upgrade auf die Elf-Speichen-Räder des Nachfolgemodells CCX. Nach einer kurzen Weile bei einem neuen Besitzer steht 011 nun bei RM Sotheby’s im Rahmen der Milan 2021 Auktion zur Versteigerung bereit. Dabei erwarten Experten einen Zuschlagspreis zwischen 720.000 und 760.000 €.

Bilder: RM Sotheby’s, Keno Zache