Honda S500

Do you know Honda’s first production car? It was actually the S500 bonsai sports car. While such a car will be offered at BH Auction in Japan in December, it is worth taking a look at the history of the model. Honda is well known today for passenger cars, but it all began in 1948 with the construction of moped engines. These were soon followed by fully-fledged motorcycles, which delivered good sales figures on the Japanese market.

Sports car to begin with

In 1955, the Japanese MITI (Ministry of International Trade and Industry) issued an appeal to all major Japanese companies to develop a four-seater people’s car. This car should be at least 100 kph (62 mph) fast and cost a maximum of 150,000 Yen. Honda, among other companies, was interested in such a project and founded an in-house car development department with just 50 employees in early 1958. By October of the same year, the designs for their idea of a car were ready, and in early 1959 the first drivable prototype with the internal code XA170 was finally on its wheels. It was followed by the XA190 in December 1959. Both prototypes had plastic bodies and air-cooled four-cylinder engines, which was both modified for later series production.

By May 1962 at the latest, the TAS260 was ready, a prototype that announced both visually and technically the coming production sports car. It was fitted with a water-cooled four-cylinder engine with a displacement of 360 cc. In addition to car development, company founder Sōichirō Honda also had to fight for his new project on another front. In 1962, the Japanese government passed a law that would allow only a maximum of three companies in Japan to build cars and also prohibit the paint colors white and red, as these were to be reserved for vehicles for the police (in Japan white and black), rescue services and fire departments. Through in-depth articles in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper, Sōichirō Honda was finally able to obtain a repeal of this law.

Presentations also in USA and Koblenz

In June 1962, the 11th National Honda Meeting on the company’s own race track in Suzuka, which was still under construction at the time, was used for the world premiere of the Honda S360. However, besides fans and owners of Honda motorcycles, only a few selected Japanese dealers were present. The general public only learned of the car plans in October 1962 at the Tokyo Motor Show. At the same time, the S500 made its debut there with an engine enlarged to 492 cc. This car finally also went into series production, as the smaller engine with its 33 hp was considered too weak for a sports car by the marketing department. In August 1963, Sōichirō Honda presented a left-hand drive S500 prototype on a Rhine steamer near Koblenz. Another left-hand drive prototype debuted in the USA. In the end, the S500 was only available as a right-hand drive car in Japan.

As early as June 1963, Honda had published a quiz in Japanese newspapers, in which readers were supposed to guess the sales price of the S500. However, this was never intended as a competition, but as a clever marketing trick to find out what potential customers expected and then react with a slightly lower price. Honda received more than 5.7 million responses in total, with the most frequently quoted price for the 40 hp two-seater roadster being 485,000 Yen. The company therefore set an entry price of 459,000 Yen. By the time series production started, the engine capacity had risen to 531 cc and the power output to 44 hp. Despite the steel bodywork, the kerb weight was only 725 kilograms and the topspeed was over 130 kph (80.7 mph). A factory team with two vehicles started at the 1963 Marathon de la Route. This long-distance rally led from Spa in Belgium via Sofia in Bulgaria back to Liège in Belgium. While one vehicle failed to finish due to an accident, the other one reached the finish line after six days.

Rare S500 at BH Auction

Only 12 pre-series prototypes of the S360 had been built, which unfortunately were all destroyed after testing. Between August 1963 and September 1964, only 1,363 units of the Honda S500 rolled off the production line. Afterwards, the Japanese built a four-cylinder engine with 57 hp, enlarged to 606 cc, installed it in the car and called it S600. This was also available as a Coupé. Both body variants remained exclusive for the Japanese market. Honda only began exporting cars to Europe and the USA when the 791 cc engine with 67.2 hp was introduced in the further developed S800 from 1966 onwards. The S600 and S800 together were produced more than 10,000 times. A late Honda S500 will be offered by the Japanese auction house BH Auction in December in an online auction. This car in the rare color ‘Elephant’ received an extensive restoration from the Garage Suzuki and comes with original equipment details like the ‘FUTABA Racket’ wooden steering wheel or the plastic wind deflector on the upper frame of the windshield. There is no information available yet on the expected hammer price.

Images: BH Auction

Honda S500

Kennen Sie das erste Serienautomobil von Honda? Es war tatsächlich der Bonsai-Sportwagen S500. Während ein solches Fahrzeug im Dezember bei BH Auction in Japan angeboten wird, lohnt sich ein Blick auf die Vorgeschichte dieses Modells. Honda kennt man heute bestens für PKW, doch begonnen hat alles 1948 mit dem Bau von Mofa-Motoren. Bald darauf folgten vollwertige Motorräder, die auf dem japanischen Markt gute Absatzzahlen lieferten.

Sportwagen als Premierenmodell

Durch das japanische MITI (Ministry of International Trade and Industry, Ministerium für internationalen Handel und Industrie) erging 1955 ein Aufruf an alle großen japanischen Firmen, ein viersitziges Volksauto zu entwickeln. Dieses sollte mindestens 100 km/h schnell sein und dabei maximal 150.000 Yen kosten. Neben diversen anderen Firmen interessierte sich auch Honda für ein solches Projekt und begründete Anfang 1958 hausintern eine PKW-Entwicklungsabteilung mit gerade einmal 50 Mitarbeitern. Bereits im Oktober des gleichen Jahres waren die Entwürfe fertig, Anfang 1959 stand schließlich auch der erste fahrfähige Prototyp mit dem internen Kürzel XA170 auf seinen Rädern. Ihm folgte im Dezember 1959 XA190. Beide Prototypen hatten Kunststoffkarosserien und luftgekühlte Vierzylindermotoren, was für die spätere Serienproduktion geändert wurde.

Spätestens im Mai 1962 stand mit dem TAS260 ein Prototyp bereit, der sowohl optisch als auch technisch den kommenden Seriensportwagen ankündigte. Er erhielt einen wassergekülten Vierzylindermotor mit 360 Kubikzentimetern Hubraum. Neben der Autoentwicklung musste Firmengründer Sōichirō Honda auch an anderer Front für sein neues Projekt kämpfen. Die japanische Regierung hatte 1962 ein Gesetz erlassen, das zum einen nur maximal drei Firmen in Japan den Bau von Automobilen erlauben sollte und außerdem die Lackfarben Weiß und Rot verbieten sollte, da diese Fahrzeugen von Polizei (in Japan weiß und schwarz), Rettungsdienst und Feuerwehr vorbehalten bleiben sollten. Durch tiefgehende Artikel in der Zeitung Asahi Shimbun konnte Sōichirō Honda schließlich eine Aufhebung dieses Gesetzes erwirken.

Präsentationen auch in USA und Koblenz

Im Juni 1962 nutzte man das 11. National Honda Meeting auf der hauseigenen, damals noch im Bau befindlichen Rennstrecke in Suzuka zur Weltpremiere des Honda S360. Allerdings waren neben Fans und Besitzern der Motorräder nur einige ausgewählte japanische Händler vor Ort. Die breite Öffentlichkeit erfuhr von den Autoplänen erst im Oktober 1962 auf der Tokyo Motor Show. Dort debütierte zeitgleich der S500 mit einem auf 492 Kubikzentimeter vergrößerten Motor. Dieser ging schließlich auch in Serie, da das kleinere Triebwerk mit seinen 33 PS von der Marketingabteilung als zu schwach für einen Sportwagen erachtet wurde. Im August 1963 präsentierte Sōichirō Honda einen linksgelenkten S500 Prototyp auf einem Rheindampfer bei Koblenz. Ein weiteres linksgesteuertes Auto debütierte in den USA. Letztlich gab es den S500 jedoch ausschließlich als Rechtslenker in Japan.

Bereits im Juni 1963 hatte Honda in japanischen Zeitungen ein Quiz veröffentlicht, bei dem die Leser den Verkaufspreis für den S500 erraten sollten. Allerdings war dies nie als Gewinnspiel, sondern als cleverer Marketingtrick gedacht, um die Erwartungshaltung potenzieller Kunden zu erfahren und anschließend mit einem knapp niedrigeren Preis reagieren zu können. Insgesamt gingen mehr als 5,7 Millionen Zuschriften bei Honda ein, wobei der meistgenannte Preis für den 40 PS starken, zweisitzigen Roadster 485.000 Yen lautete. Das Unternehmen legte daher einen Einstiegspreis von 459.000 Yen fest. Bis zum Serienanlauf stiegen der Hubraum auf 531 Kubikzentimeter und die Leistung auf 44 PS. Trotz Stahlkarosserie lag das Leergewicht bei lediglich 725 Kilogramm und die Höchstgeschwindigkeit bei über 130 km/h. Dies nutzte ein Werksteam mit zwei Fahrzeugen auch beim Marathon de la Route 1963. Diese Langstreckenrallye führte vom belgischen Spa über Sofia in Bulgarien wieder zurück nach Lüttich in Belgien. Während ein Fahrzeug durch Unfall ausfiel, erreichte das andere die Ziellinie.

Seltener S500 bei BH Auction

Vom S360 hatte man nur 12 Vorserienprototypen gebaut, die leider alle nach der Erprobung zerstört wurden. Zwischen August 1963 und September 1964 liefen lediglich 1.363 Exemplare des Honda S500 vom Band. Anschließend verbauten die Japaner einen auf 606 Kubikzentimeter vergrößerten Vierzylindermotor mit 57 PS und nannten das Auto S600. Diesen gab es auch als Coupé. Beide Karosserievarianten blieben weiterhin dem japanischen Markt vorbehalten. Erst mit der Einführung des 791 Kubikzentimeter großen und 67,2 PS starken Motors im S800 ab 1966 begann Honda mit dem Export nach Europa und in die USA. S600 und S800 brachten es zusammen auf mehr als 10.000 Exemplare. Einen späten Honda S500 bietet das japanische Auktionshaus BH Auction im Dezember in einer Onlineversteigerung an. Dieser Wagen im Farbton ‚Elephant‘ erhielt von der Garage Suzuki eine umfangreiche Restaurierung und kommt mit originalen Ausstattungsdetails wie dem ‚FUTABA Racket‘-Holzlenkrad oder dem Kunststoff-Windabweiser am oberen Rahmen der Windschutzscheibe. Zum erwarteten Zuschlagspreis liegen noch keine Informationen vor.

Bilder: BH Auction