Graham Hollywood

In 1927, the three brothers Joseph, Robert and Ray Graham founded the car manufacturer Graham-Paige. Before that, they had run the Graham Brothers company from 1919 and manufactured commercial vehicles with engines from Dodge. At times, they even held influential positions on the Dodge Board of Supervisors. In addition to the original factory in Evansville, Indiana, they latterly had manufacturing plants in Detroit and and Stockton, California. They sold this brand to buy the Paige-Detroit Motor Company automaker with $ 3.5 million and enter the automobile manufacturing business themselves. Soon, the first model series with six- and eight-cylinder engines rolled onto the streets. Unlike other manufacturers of the time, Graham-Paige produced its own engines and bodies. For the latter, the brothers had taken over the Wayne Body Company.

Despite innovations, sales figures fell

During the Great Depression following Black Friday, Graham-Paige initially continued to sell well. However, the general situation eventually also affected car sales. At the same time, the brand’s models built from 1932 onwards, with their design by Amos Northup, were considered to be particularly influential on vehicle construction worldwide. One innovative feature, for example, was the mudguards, which were positioned close to the body and prevented mud and dirt from being thrown up on the sides of the vehicle. In addition, the filler neck for the radiator was moved under the hood for the first time. Starting in 1934, the eight-cylinder models were available with optional supercharging, which followed two years later for the six-cylinder engines as well. Until the 1990s, Graham-Paige held the record for the most cars sold with supercharging. However, they failed to adapt the body design to changing tastes. As a result, the company fell further and further behind in customer favor.

Cord became Hupmobile and Graham

At the end of 1939, Graham-Paige signed a cooperation agreement with Hupp Motor Co. This gave them access to the press tools for the Cord 810 and 812, which were stored at Hupmobile. After the demise of the Cord brand, Hupp had purchased all the manufacturing equipment, but then didn’t have the money to mass produce the car again. Together with Graham-Paige, this now resulted in the Hupmobile Skylark and the Graham Hollywood. Compared to the original design by Graham Buehrig, however, the vacuum-operated pop-up headlights in the front fenders were dispensed with. John Tjaarda was responsible for the redesigned front end. In addition, the company used its own chassis with rear-wheel drive instead of front-wheel drive. While the Skylark was powered by a four-liter inline six-cylinder engine, the Hollywood was powered by a 3.6-liter engine. A supercharger was again available as an option.

Manufacturing difficulties caused a flop

Although many orders for the Graham Hollywood were received immediately after the presentation, early examples rolled out of the production hall with a huge delay. There were problems with the bodywork in particular, which is why it was finally manufactured by the coachbuilder Hayes. Many customers cancelled their orders because of the waiting time. A promising project turned into a big flop with only around 1,500 units built. The Hupmobile Skylark fare even worse with only about 300 vehicles produced. In September 1940, production of cars ended in favor of equipment vital to the war effort. The brand name Graham-Paige Motors officially existed until 1952, but there were no more new cars. The stock owners agreed a takeover by Kaiser-Frazer in 1947, which resulted in the manufacturing facilities going to Chrysler.

Late Hollywood model at Hyman Ltd.

In the 1941 model year, which in the US traditionally began as early as August 1940, only 354 examples of the Graham Hollywood were produced. One of them belonged to Frank Kleptz’s car collection since the 1960s. With optional supercharger and a strawberry red paint plus maroon interior, this car is now for sale at classic car dealer Hyman Ltd. Despite its rarity, the Graham Hollywood is said to cost just US$ 29,500. Minor work is needed to get it back on the road.

Images: Hyman Ltd.

Graham Hollywood

1927 begründeten die drei Brüder Joseph, Robert und Ray Graham den Autohersteller Graham-Paige. Zuvor leiteten sie ab 1919 das Unternehmen Graham Brothers und stellten Nutzfahrzeuge mit Motoren von Dodge her. Zeitweise hielten sie sogar einflussreiche Positionen im Dodge-Aufsichtsrat. Zusätzlich zur ursprünglichen Fabrik in Evansville, Indiana, hatten sie zuletzt auch Fertigungshallen in Detroit und dem kalifornischen Stockton. Diese Marke verkauften sie, um sich mit 3,5 Millionen US-Dollar den Autohersteller Paige-Detroit Motor Company zu kaufen und selbst in den Automobilbau einzusteigen. Bald rollten erste Modellreihen mit Sechs- und Achtzylindermotoren auf die Straßen. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Herstellern der damaligen Zeit stellte Graham-Paige eigene Triebwerk und Karosserien her. Für letzteres hatten die Brüder eigens die Wayne Body Company übernommen.

Trotz Innovationen sanken Verkaufszahlen

In der Zeit der großen Depression nach dem Schwarzen Freitag konnte Graham-Paige anfänglich weiter gut verkaufen. Allerdings schlug sich die allgemeine Lage schließlich auch auf die Autoverkaufszahlen nieder. Gleichzeitig galten jedoch gerade die ab 1932 gebauten Modelle der Marke mit ihrem Design von Amos Northup als besonders einflussreich auf den Fahrzeugbau weltweit. Innovativ waren beispielsweise die eng an die Karosserie angelegten Kotflügel, durch die Matsch und Dreck nicht an den Fahrzeugseiten hochgeworfen wurde. Zudem verlagerte man den Einfüllstutzen für den Kühler erstmals unter die Motorhaube. Ab 1934 gab es die Achtzylindermodelle optional mit Kompressoraufladung, die zwei Jahre später auch für die Sechszylindermotoren folgte. Bis in die 1990er hielt Graham-Paige den Rekord der meisten verkauften Autos mit Kompressoraufladung. Allerdings verpasste man es, das Karosseriedesign an den veränderten Geschmack anzupassen. So fiel man in der Kundengunst immer weiter zurück.

Aus Cord wurde Hupmobile und Graham

Ende 1939 schloss Graham-Paige einen Kooperationsvertrag mit Hupp Motor Co. Damit konnte man auf die Hilfe von Hupmobile zugreifen, wo die Presswerkzeuge für den Cord 810 und 812 lagerten. Nach dem Ende der Marke Cord hatte Hupp alle Fertigungsanlagen gekauft, dann jedoch nicht das Geld gehabt, um den Wagen wieder in Serie zu produzieren. Gemeinsam mit Graham-Paige entstanden daraus nun der Hupmobile Skylark und der Graham Hollywood. Im Vergleich zum ursprünglichen Entwurf von Gordon Buehrig verzichtete man allerdings auf die unterdruckbetriebenen Klappscheinwerfer in den Kotflügeln. Für die neu gestaltete Frontpartie zeichnete John Tjaarda verantwortlich. Zudem nutzte man eigene Fahrgestelle mit Hinter- statt Vorderradantrieb. Während im Skylark ein vier Liter großer Reihensechszylindermotor für den Vortrieb sorgte, war es im Hollywood ein 3,6 Liter großes Triebwerk. Optional gab es erneut eine Kompressoraufladung.

Fertigungsschwierigkeiten sorgten für Flop

Obwohl direkt nach der Präsentation viele Bestellungen für den Graham Hollywood eingingen, rollten frühe Exemplare sehr verzögert aus der Fertigungshalle heraus. Speziell beim Aufbau der Karosserien gab es Probleme, weshalb man diese schließlich vom Karosseriebauer Hayes herstellen ließ. Viele Kunden lösten aufgrund der Wartezeit ihre Kaufverträge auf. Aus einem vielversprechenden Projekt wurde ein großer Flop mit lediglich rund 1.500 gebauten Exemplaren. Noch schlechter lief es nur für den Hupmobile Skylark, von dem sogar nur rund 300 Stück vom Band liefen. Im September 1940 endete die Produktion von Autos zugunsten von kriegswichtiger Ausrüstung. Der Markenname Graham-Paige Motors existierte zwar offiziell bis 1952, neue Autos gab es jedoch nicht mehr. Die Aktienbesitzer stimmten 1947 einer Übernahme durch Kaiser-Frazer zu, wodurch die Fertigungsstätten an Chrysler gingen.

Spätes Fahrzeug bei Hyman Ltd.

Im Modelljahr 1941, das in den USA traditionsgemäß bereits im August 1940 begann, entstanden lediglich 354 Exemplare des Graham Hollywood. Eines davon gehörte seit den 1960er Jahren zur Autosammlung von Frank Kleptz. Mit optionalem Kompressor und einer erdbeerroten Lackierung plus kastanienbraunem Interieur steht dieser Wagen nun beim Klassikerhändler Hyman Ltd. zum Verkauf. Trotz seiner Rarität soll der Graham Hollywood lediglich 29.500 US-Dollar kosten. Um ihn wieder auf der Straße einsetzen zu können, sind kleinere Arbeiten nötig.

Bilder: Hyman Ltd.