Chevrolet K5 Blazer-E

Actually the tuning fair SEMA should start today in Las Vegas. Due to the Corona pandemic, the organizer moved this event to the internet and called for the first SEMA360, which can be visited by visitors from all over the world from the comfort of their own homes. Many exhibitors who had presented their innovations at SEMA are now using this new route for their premieres. One of them is Chevrolet.

Connect and Cruise package

In addition to various tuned new vehicles, the American car manufacturer is also showing a rebuilt classic. This is a K5 Blazer from 1977, which was completely converted to electric drive technology by the Chevrolet Performance department. This gives a glimpse of the upcoming ‘Connect and Cruise’ package, which will allow customers to upgrade their classic cars. The first such idea was presented in 2018 with a converted Camaro eCOPO. This was followed a year later by Chevrolet E-10, with brought further experience for the team.

As far as possible, the body and chassis of the original Chevrolet K5 Blazer have been retained. At the beginning of the conversion, the team removed the 138 kW/187 hp V8 engine, the three-speed automatic transmission, the fuel tank and fuel lines, and the exhaust system. Then the installation of the new parts began. The ‘Connect and Cruise’ package contains 90 percent components from the current Chevrolet Bolt EV. This gives the Blazer a performance boost to 149 kW/203 hp and 361 newtonmeters of torque. This power is distributed to the permanent four-wheel drive by an electronically controlled four-speed automatic transmission. The transfer case, drive shafts and axles remain untouched.

Installation at certified dealers

In the K5 Blazer-E, the 400-volt battery pack from the Bolt is located at the bottom of the trunk and delivers up to 60 kWh. The wiring harness and control units from the Bolt retain important functions such as surge protection, battery cooling and heating, shock protection and brake energy recovery. The conversion also includes electronic power steering, an electronic brake booster and controls to the classic round instruments in the dashboard. The ‘Connect and Cruise’ package can only be installed by certified Chevrolet dealers who have sent mechanics to the factory for specific training and have purchased special tools. It is expected to be available from the second half of 2021. Chevrolet hasn’t yet released any information on prices.

Images: Chevrolet

Chevrolet K5 Blazer-E

Eigentlich sollte heute in Las Vegas die Tuningmesse SEMA beginnen. Durch die Corona-Pandemie verlagerte der Veranstalter diese Veranstaltung ins Internet und rief zur ersten SEMA360 auf, die von Besuchern aus aller Welt bequem von Zuhause aus besucht werden kann. Viele Aussteller, die auf der SEMA ihre Neuheiten präsentiert hätten, nutzen nun den neuen Weg für ihre Premieren. Darunter auch Chevrolet.

Connect and Cruise Paket

Neben diversen umgebauten Neufahrzeugen zeigt der amerikanische Autohersteller auch einen umgebauten Klassiker. Es handelt sich um einen K5 Blazer aus dem Jahr 1977, der von der Chevrolet Performance Abteilung komplett auf elektrische Antriebstechnik umgebaut wurde. Auf diese Weise gibt man einen gezielten Ausblick auf ein bald kommendes ‚Connect and Cruise‘-Paket, mit dem Kunden ihre klassischen Fahrzeuge umrüsten lassen können. Erstmalig zeigte man eine solche Idee bereits 2018 mit einem umgebauten Camaro eCOPO. Ein Jahr später folgte ein Chevrolet E-10, der weitere Erfahrungswerte einbrachte.

Soweit wie möglich bleiben Karosserie und Fahrwerk des originalen Chevrolet K5 Blazer erhalten. Zu Beginn des Umbaus entfernte das Team den 138 kW/187 PS starken V8-Motor, die Dreigang-Automatik, den Benzintank und die Benzinleitungen sowie die Abgasanlage. Anschließend begann die Installation der neuen Teile. Das ‚Connect and Cruise‘-Paket enthält zu 90 Prozent Komponenten vom aktuellen Chevrolet Bolt EV. Damit erhält der Blazer eine Leistungssteigerung auf 149 kW/203 PS und 361 Newtonmeter Drehmoment. Diese Leistung verteilt ein elektronisch kontrolliertes Viergang-Automatikgetriebe auf den permanenten Allradantrieb. Das Verteilergetriebe, die Antriebswellen und die Achsen blieben unangetastet.

Einbau bei zertifizierten Händlern

Das 400-Volt-Batteriepaket aus dem Bolt befindet sich beim K5 Blazer-E am Boden des Kofferraums und liefert bis zu 60 kWh. Durch den Kabelbaum und die Steuergeräte aus dem Bolt bleiben wichtige Funktionen wie ein Überspannungsschutz, Batterie-Kühlung und -Heizung, Stromschlagschutz und Bremsenergierückgewinnung erhalten. Zudem beinhaltet der Umbau eine elektronische Servolenkung, ein elektronischer Bremskraftverstärker und Ansteuerungen an die klassischen Rundinstrumente im Armaturenbrett. Den Einbau des ‚Connect and Cruise‘-Paketes dürfen nur zertifizierte Chevrolet-Händler durchführen, die zuvor Mechaniker zu bestimmten Schulungen ins Werk geschickt und zudem spezielles Werkzeug angeschafft haben. Es ist voraussichtlich ab der zweiten Jahreshälfte 2021 erhältlich. Zu den Preisen machte Chevrolet noch keine Angaben.

Bilder: Chevrolet