Chevrolet Corvette LM

Classic American cars can be very valuable in individual cases. However, it may come as a surprise that the dark red remains of a Chevrolet Corvette in our picture gallery are seriously expected to command a hammer price of between US$ 900,000 and US$ 1,300,000. Of course, the first-generation Corvette model is now rare. In good condition, six-figure prices are also quite conceivable. But seven digits before the decimal point for wreck? Where is the hidden camera? In fact, this value has its justification, which, however, only becomes clear with a look into history.

Early history of the Chevrolet Corvette

When the Corvette C1 was launched in 1953, it was a beautiful convertible. Under the hood was a 3.8-liter inline six-cylinder engine with 110 kW/150 hp. In the following year, a modified camshaft provided a small increase in power to 114 kW/155 hp. With a topspeed that was 112 mph at best, Chevrolet thus didn’t break into the sports car market. It wasn’t until 1955 that a small-block V8 with 143 kW/195 hp from 4.3 liters of displacement moved into the two-seater. This meant that the topspeed was now over 124 mph. One year later, power increased to 157 kW/213 hp, with optional performance kits available with 228 or 243 hp. Now motorsport enthusiasts were also increasingly interested in this vehicle. In 1957, Chevrolet replaced the V8 with a new powerplant with 4.6 liters of displacement and 208 kW/283 hp. For the 1958 model year, variants between 169 kW/230 hp and 213 kW/290 hp were available.

Significant visual changes

To the same extent as the engine range, Chevrolet also repeatedly changed the body of the Corvette C1. While the original version rolled out to customers with single headlights and suggested tail fins, not much of this was left by the end of production in 1962. The tail fins were dropped as early as 1956, and at the same time the plastic body was given side indetations, which were painted in a contrasting color at extra cost. In addition, there were now door handles on the outside and a hardtop ex works, while at the front the previously flush headlights now stood upright in the wind. From 1958 onwards there were twin headlights at the front, which visually concealed the widened and lengthened bodywork. There were also new air outlets behind the front wheels. In the following two model years, more and more chrom trim was removed. In 1961 a last facelift took place with boat tail and omission of the lateral indentations.

What is the history of the wreck?

This finally brings us back to the dark red vehicle in barn find condition. In the fall of 1959, the spritual father behind the Corvette, Zora Arkus-Duntov, contacted the American private racer Briggs Swift Cunningham II, heir to the Procter and Gamble corporation. The latter had just abandoned his plans to win the 24 Hours of Le Mans after a decade of futile attempts. In 1950, he had entered two Cadillacs he had specially built for the race. From 1951 to 1955, more home-built cars followed from his workshop in West Palm Beach, Florida. His greatest ambition was to win with and all-American team. While he was denied that victory, he did manage to win the America’s Cup in sailing in 1958. Arkus-Duntov was able to offer him an exclusive endurance racing car based on the Corvette, which had been created at GM.

Racing activities through the back door

And this despite the ban on all factory racing activities imposed on all American automakers after the fatal Le Mans accident in 1955. From 1958, some brands dared to move forward again, but only unofficially through partnerships with private teams. On January 7, 1960, Chevrolet reached agreement with Cunningham on the entry of three cars. These were completed on March 16. To keep Chevrolet’s involvement under wraps, all cars officially were delivered to dealer Don Allen Midtown Chevrolet in New York City. They then went to Alfred Momo’s shop, where they were prepared for racing with quick-release fuel caps, magnesium wheels with Firestone racing tires, auxiliary instruments and Koni shocks. The tailpipes ended at the side under the doors. After subsequent test drives, further modifications were made.

Three Cunningham Corvettes at Le Mans 1960

As early as March 26, two cars took part in the 12 Hours of Sebring. While number 1 crashed after damage to the rear wheel hub, the second car dropped out with engine failure. After the necessary repairs, all three cars went to Le Mans by ship. There they were given the starting numbers 1 (chassis# 3535), 2 (chassis# 4117) and 3 (chassis# 2538). Originally, Zora Arkus-Duntov was to sit at the of #1 together with Briggs Cunningham. After the practice runs, he withdrew due to concerns from the GM boardroom. In the field of otherwise only European sports cars and GTs up to five liters, the Corvette initially was well placed. When it started raining around 6:00 pm, they changed tires and drivers. However, at the end of the first lap after the pit stop, Bill Kimberly crashed #1 due to aquaplaning.

Race cars were sold in the US

Car #2 crashed in the same place a little later, but was able to limb back to the pits. After the necessary bodywork repairs, the car retired with engine damage. Only car #3 with the driver pairing Bob Grossman/John Fitch finally reached the finish line in eighth place overall. More important, however, was the win the GT class up to five liters displacement. All three cars then went back to Momo in the USA. The engines were removed and returned to Frank Burrell at GM as per contract. Cunningham then sold the empty cars to fellow private racers. Chassis# 3535 went to Marshall ‘Perry’ Boswell Jr. He rebuilt the engine-less Corvette to the pre-1958 front end with single headlights and incorporated a stand-alone grille. He also modified the hood with a central air intake. Then he smoothed out the side sections and painted the car black with chrome wheels and whitewall tires. Sometime around 1966, Mr. Boswell sold the Corvette.

Completely converted number 1 car

Various owners in Florida followed, one of whom painted the car green, another in yellow. The last known change of ownership led to Dan Mathis’ garage in 1974. For the next 37 years, the Corvette disappeared from public view. In 2011, an online listing surfaced for a red “pre-production Zagato prototype with Pontiac parts”. It came from Rick Carr, who was clening out and selling the estate of his late father, Richard W. Carr. Among the items in the warehouse was the converted Corvette, which Rick Carr initially couldn’t identify. It wasn’t until he looked up the chassis number that he came across the background story. Despite the conversions, various original parts such as the wiring harness for the illuminated numbers on the doors, the racing tank and the motorsports drum brakes have been retained. The former cars #2 and #3 have already been restored. RM Sotheby’s is now looking for a new owner for #1.

Images: RM Sotheby’s, Theodore W. Pieper, Revs Institute, Cahier Archive

Chevrolet Corvette LM

Klassische amerikanische Autos können in Einzelfällen sehr wertvoll sein. Allerdings mag es schon erstaunen, dass für die dunkelroten Überreste einer Chevrolet Corvette in unserer Bildergalerie ernsthaft mit einem Zuschlagspreis zwischen 900.000 und 1.300.000 US$ erwartet wird. Natürlich ist die erste Modellgeneration der Corvette inzwischen selten. In gutem Zustand sind sechsstellige Preise auch durchaus denkbar. Aber sieben Stellen vor dem Komma für ein Wrack? Wo steht die versteckte Kamera? Tatsächlich hat dieser Wert seine Berechtigung, die jedoch nur mit einem Blick in die Geschichte klar wird.

Frühgeschichte der Chevrolet Corvette

Als die Corvette C1 im Jahr 1953 auf den Markt kam, war sie ein schönes Cabriolet. Unter der Haube werkelte ein 3,8-Liter-Reihensechszylindermotor mit 110 kW/150 PS. Im Folgejahr sorgte eine veränderte Nockenwelle für eine kleine Leistungssteigerung auf 114 kW/155 PS. Mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit, die im besten Fall bei 180 km/h lag, stieß Chevrolet damit nicht in den Markt der Sportwagen hinein. Erst 1955 wanderte ein Small-Block-V8 mit 143 kW/195 PS aus 4,3 Litern Hubraum in den Zweisitzer. Damit lag die Höchstgeschwindigkeit nun bei über 200 km/h. Ein Jahr später stieg die Leistung auf 157 kW/213 PS, wobei es optional Leistungskits mit 228 oder sogar 243 PS gab. Nun interessierten sich auch zunehmend Motorsportler für dieses Fahrzeug. 1957 wechselte Chevrolet den V8 gegen ein neues Triebwerk mit 4,6 Litern Hubraum und 208 kW/283 PS aus. Für das 1958er Modelljahr standen Varianten zwischen 169 kW/230 PS und 213 kW/290 PS zur Auswahl.

Optisch stark verändert

Im gleichen Maße wie die Motorenpalette veränderte Chevrolet auch immer wieder die Karosserie der Corvette C1. Während die Urversion mit Einzelscheinwerfern und angedeuteten Heckflossen zu den Kunden rollte, war davon zum Produktionsende 1962 nicht mehr viel übrig. Die Heckflossen entfielen bereits 1956. Zeitgleich erhielt die Kunststoffkarosserie seitliche Einbuchtungen, die gegen Aufpreis in einer Kontrastfarbe lackiert wurden. Zudem gab es nun außen Türgriffe und ein Hardtop ab Werk, während vorn die vorher bündig liegenden Scheinwerfer nun aufrecht im Wind standen. Ab 1958 gab es vorn Doppelscheinwerfer, durch die optisch die verbreiterte und verlängerte Karosserie ein wenig kaschiert wurde. Hinter den Vorderrädern gab es nun Luftauslässe. In den folgenden zwei Modelljahren entfiel immer mehr Chromzierrat. 1961 erfolgte ein letztes Facelift mit Bootsheck und Entfall der seitlichen Einbuchtungen.

Was hat es mit dem Wrack auf sich?

Damit kommen wir endlich zu dem dunkelroten Fahrzeug im gefühlten Zustand 5 zurück. Im Herbst 1959 kontaktierte der geistige Vater hinter der Corvette, Zora Arkus-Duntov, den amerikanischen Privatrennfahrer Briggs Swift Cunningham II, Erbe des Procter and Gamble Konzerns. Dieser hatte seine Pläne, das 24-Stunden-Rennen von Le Mans zu gewinnen, nach einem Jahrzehnt vergeblicher Versuche gerade aufgegeben. 1950 hatte er zwei selbst aufgebaute Cadillacs dort eingesetzt. Von 1951 bis 1955 folgten weitere Eigenbauten aus seiner Werkstatt in West Palm Beach, Florida. Sein größtes Anliegen war es, mit einem komplett amerikanischen Team zu gewinnen. Während ihm dieser Sieg verwehrt blieb, gelang ihm 1958 der Gewinn des America’s Cup im Segeln. Arkus-Duntov konnte ihm ein exklusives Langstreckenrennauto auf Basis der Corvette anbieten, das bei GM entstanden war.

Rennaktivitäten durch die Hintertür

Und das trotz des Verbots aller Rennaktivitäten, das sich alle amerikanischen Autohersteller nach dem fatalen Le-Mans-Unfall 1955 auferlegt hatten. Ab 1958 trauten sich manche Marken wieder nach vorn, allerdings nur inoffiziell über Partnerschaften mit Privatteams. Am 7. Januar 1960 war Chevrolet sich mit Cunningham über den Einsatz von drei Autos einig. Diese wurden am 16. März fertiggestellt. Um das Engagement von Chevrolet unter dem Teppich zu halten, gingen alle drei Wagen offiziell an den Händler Don Allen Midtown Chevrolet in New York City. Anschließend gingen sie in die Werkstatt von Alfred Momo, wo sie für Renneinsätze mit Tankschnellverschlüssen, Magnesium-Rädern mit Firestone-Rennreifen, Zusatzinstrumenten und Koni-Dämpfern vorbereitet wurden. Die Endrohre der Abgasanlage mündeten unter den Türen ins Freie. Nach anschließenden Testfahrten erfolgten weitere Modifikationen.

Drei Cunningham-Corvette in Le Mans 1960

Bereits am 26. März nahmen zwei Wagen an den 12 Stunden von Sebring teil. Während die Nummer 1 nach einem Schaden an der hinteren Radaufhängung verunfallte, fiel das zweite Auto mit Motorschaden aus. Nach den notwendigen Reparaturen gingen die drei Rennwagen per Schiff nach Le Mans. Dort erhielten sie die Startnummern 1 (Chassis# 3535), 2 (Chassis# 4117) und 3 (Chassis# 2538). Am Steuer der 1 sollte ursprünglich neben Bill Cunningham auch Zora Arkus-Duntov sitzen. Nach den Trainingsfahrten verzichtete er jedoch aufgrund von Bedenken aus der GM-Chefetage. Im Feld der sonst ausschließlich europäischen Sportwagen und GT bis fünf Liter Hubraum hielten sich die Corvette anfänglich gut. Als es gegen 18:00 Uhr anfing zu regnen, wechselte man Reifen und Fahrer. Am Ende der ersten Runde nach dem Boxenstopp verunfallte Bill Kimberly jedoch durch Aquaplaning.

Rennfahrzeuge wurden verkauft

Auto #2 verunfallte wenig später an gleicher Stelle, konnte jedoch an die Boxen zurückkehren. Nach den notwendigen Karosseriereparaturen fiel der Wagen mit Motorschaden aus. Einzig das Auto Nummer 3 mit der Fahrerpaarung Bob Grossman/John Fitch erreichte schließlich die Ziellinie auf dem achten Platz insgesamt. Wichtiger war hingegen der Sieg in der GT-Klasse bis fünf Liter Hubraum. Alle drei Fahrzeuge gingen anschließend zurück zu Momo in den USA. Die Motoren wurden ausgebaut und vertragsgemäß an Frank Burrell bei GM zurückgegeben. Anschließend verkaufte Cunningham die Fahrzeuge an Rennfahrerkollegen. Chassis# 3535 ging an Marshall ‚Perry‘ Boswell junior. Er baute die motorlose Corvette auf die Frontpartie mit nur einem Scheinwerferpaar von vor 1958 um und integrierte einen eigenständigen Kühlergrill. In die Motorhaube baute er einen zentralen Lufteinlass ein. Zudem glättete Boswell die Seitenpartien und lackierte das Auto anschließend schwarz mit Chromrädern und Weißwandreifen. Irgendwann rund um das Jahr 1966 verkaufte Mr. Boswell die Corvette.

Komplett umgebaute Nummer 1

Es folgten diverse Besitzer in Florida, von denen einer den Wagen in grün und ein anderer es schließlich in gelb lackierte. Der letzte bekannte Besitzerwechsel führte 1974 in die Garage von Dan Mathis. Für die folgenden 37 Jahre verschwand die Corvette aus der Öffentlichkeit. 2011 tauchte ein Online-Angebot für einen roten „Vorserienprototyp von Zagato mit Pontiac-Technik“ auf. Es stammte von Rick Carr, der den Besitz seines verstorbenen Vaters Richard W. Carr aufräumte und verkaufte. Darunter befand sich die umgebaute Corvette, die Rick Carr anfänglich nicht zuordnen konnte. Erst als er sich mit der Fahrgestellnummer befasste, stieß er auf die Hintergrundgeschichte. Trotz der Umbauten sind diverse Originalteile wie der Kabelbaum für die beleuchteten Startnummern an den Türen, der Renntank oder die Motorsporttrommelbremsen erhalten geblieben. Die ehemaligen Autos Nummer 2 und 3 sind bereits restauriert worden. RM Sotheby’s sucht nun einen neuen Besitzer für die Nummer 1.

Bilder: RM Sotheby’s, Theodore W. Pieper, Revs Institute, Cahier Archive