Barbara Skinner in Le Mans 1935

The British Skinner family should actually be known to many classic car fans. However, they often know mainly one particular product, which was produced by the Skinners Union company millions of times. Which one is that? Shorten the company name to the initials and think of carburetors. Company founders George Herbert ‘Bert’ Skinner and Thomas Carlyle ‘Carl’ Skinner experimented with car fuel mixtures back in the early 1900s and developed their first own carburetor in 1904. After a few car enthusiasts had become aware of their system and wanted to have matching parts, they decided to found the Skinner Unions (SU) in 1910.

Carl Skinner had two children, Barbara and Peter, who both became big racing fans and later also racing drivers. Until shortly before Barbara Skinner’s racing debut, women were officially excluded from participating in races. The BARC issued this ban as early as the 1900s, drawing comparisons with the jockeys in equestrian sports, where there were no women either. In 1928 the growing pressure was given way and women were allowed to compete in championships and from 1932 on women were finally allowed to compete in the same classes and categories as men.

In the same year Barbara Skinner celebrated her 21st birthday, for which she received a Morris Cowley Special from her father. This car with the registration number YF15 had previously been used in the carburetor development at SU and finally received a conversion for racing use, which was first carried out by Carl Skinner himself. His daughter used this car both in everyday life and for her first races. The very first one was the Shelsley Walsh hillclimb on September 3, 1932, where she directly won the MAC Ladies Cup for fastest time. She covered the climb up the mountain in 56.6 seconds. Various other successful trips to the race track followed.

However, she retired the Morris Special at the end of the year because the car was no longer competitive. Instead, Barbara used it as a towing vehicle for her newly built White Minor, which was based on a Morris chassis given to the Skinner family on permanent loan by Lord Nuffield, then boss of Morris. The papers presented to Barbara Skinner on her wedding day, along with the chassis, read: “to be used by Miss B. Skinner for racing”. Two years after her debut she set a new record time in Shelsley Walsh, a full ten seconds (!) faster than her time in 1932. She reached this time of 46.6 seconds again in 1938 with her Red Skinner Special, which is still owned by the successor company of SU, Burlen, today.

Besides hillclimbs, she also drove the RAC Rally and races in Brooklands. In 1935, the highlight came when she was announced to be part of a six-woman ladies team at the 24-hour race in Le Mans. There the women drove in three MG PA Midgets as the ‘Dancing Daughters’ works team. Barbara Skinner and her colleague Doreen Evans finished 24th overall after 153 laps. She eventually married the racing driver and motoring writer John Bolster and competed in more races under her new last name. Tragically, her promising career ended in 1942 when Barbara Bolster died in a traffic accident. Especially at Burlen, the company that still produces SU carburetors according to old pattern (but also those of Amal and Zenith), the racing successes are still unforgotten today. Now there was a corresponding interest to bring this lady rightfully back into the public eye.

Images: Burlen

Barbara Skinner in Le Mans 1935

Die britische Familie Skinner sollte eigentlich vielen Oldtimerfans bekannt sein. Allerdings kennt man oftmals hauptsächlich ein bestimmtes Produkt, das von der Firma Skinners Union millionenfach hergestellt wurde. Welches das ist? Kürzen Sie den Firmennamen ab und denken Sie an Vergaser. Die Firmengründer George Herbert ‚Bert‘ Skinner und Thomas Carlyle ‚Carl‘ Skinner experimentierten bereits in den frühen 1900er Jahren mit der Kraftstoffaufbereitung für Autos herum und entwickelten 1904 ihren ersten Vergaser. Nachdem einige befreundete Autofahrer auf ihr System aufmerksam geworden waren und ebenfalls passende Teile haben wollten, entschieden sie sich 1910 zur Gründung der Skinners Union (SU).

Carl Skinner hatte zwei Kinder, Barbara und Peter, die beide große Rennsportfans und später Rennfahrer wurden. Bis kurz vor der Rennpremiere von Barbara Skinner waren Frauen offiziell von der Teilnahme an Rennen ausgeschlossen. Der BARC erließ dieses Verbot bereits in den 1900ern und zog dabei den Vergleich zu den Jockeys im Reitsport, wo es auch keine Frauen gab. 1928 gab man dem wachsenden Druck nach und erlaubte Frauen-Meisterschaften und ab 1932 durften Frauen schließlich in den gleichen Klassen und Kategorien wie die Männer antreten.

Im gleichen Jahr feierte Barbara Skinner ihren 21. Geburtstag, zu dem sie von ihrem Vater einen Morris Cowley Special erhielt. Dieser Wagen mit dem Kennzeichen YF15 diente zuvor in der Vergaserentwicklung bei SU und erhielt schließlich einen Umbau für Renneinsätze, die zuerst einmal Carl Skinner selbst durchführte. Seine Tochter nutzte dieses Auto sowohl im Alltag als auch für ihre ersten Rennen. Ihr Ersteinsatz war beim Shelsley Walsh Bergrennen am 3. September 1932, wo sie direkt den MAC Ladies Cup für die schnellste Zeit erhielt. Sie legte den Aufstieg am Berg in 56,6 Sekunden zurück. Es folgten diverse weitere erfolgreiche Ausflüge auf die Rennstrecke.

Allerdings versetzte sie den Morris am Ende des Jahres in den Ruhestand, da der Wagen nicht mehr konkurrenzfähig war. Stattdessen nutzte Barbara ihn als Zugfahrzeug für ihren neu aufgebauten White Minor, der auf einem Morris-Fahrgestell basierte, das der Skinner-Familie von Lord Nuffield, dem Chef von Morris, als Dauerleihgabe übergeben worden war. In den Papieren, die zusammen mit dem Fahrgestell am Hochzeitstag an Barbara Skinner überreicht wurden, stand: „to be used by Miss B. Skinner for racing“ (zur Benutzung im Motorsport durch Frau B. Skinner). Zwei Jahre nach ihrem Debüt erzielte sie in Shelsley Walsh eine neue Bestzeit, die volle zehn Sekunden (!) schneller war als ihre Zeit von 1932. Diese Zeit von 46,6 Sekunden erreichte sie 1938 mit ihrem Red Skinner Special nochmals, der heute noch im Besitz der SU-Nachfolgefirma Burlen ist.

Neben Bergrennen fuhr sie auch die RAC Rally und Rennen in Brooklands. 1935 kam der Höhepunkt, als sie als Teil eines sechsköpfigen Damenteams von MG zum 24-Stunden-Rennen in Le Mans geschickt wurde. Dort fuhren die Frauen in drei MG PA Midget als ‚Dancing Daughters‘-Werksteam. Barbara Skinner und ihre Kollegin Doreen Evans erreichten nach 153 zurückgelegten Runden den 24. Platz. Sie heiratete schließlich den Rennfahrer und Automobiljournalisten John Bolster und startete bei weiteren Rennen unter ihrem neuen Nachnamen. Tragischerweise endete ihre vielversprechende Karriere 1942, als Barbara Bolster bei einem Verkehrsunfall ums Leben kam. Speziell bei Burlen, jener Firma, die heute noch SU-Vergaser nach altem Muster anfertigt (aber auch jene von Amal und Zenith), sind die Rennerfolge bis heute unvergessen. Entsprechendes Interesse hatte man nun daran, diese Dame berechtigterweise wieder einmal in die Öffentlichkeit zu bringen.

Bilder: Burlen