Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 5, 7 & 9

In the 1950s, the heyday of wild concept cars began. In addition to the Americans, it was mainly Italian design houses that expressed their ideas for the automotive future in sheet metal and plastic in this way, without regard to series production opportunities and costs. Three special examples were created by Bertone and debuted at the Turin Motor Shows in 1953, 1954 and 1955. Under the direction of the then chief designer Franco Scaglione, the concept cars B.A.T. 5, B.A.T. 7 and B.A.T. 9 were built, each based on the then current Alfa Romeo 1900. The abbreviation B.A.T. stood for Berlina Aerodinamica Tecnica, roughly translated to aerodynamic and technical ideas for the sedan of tomorrow (or the day after tomorrow). Surprisingly, even today, 65 years after the premiere of the B.A.T. 9, this trio still seems coherent and by no means out of fashion. It is an automotive tryptichon that only completely unfolds its full effect, when all three cars are parked next to each other, since they are variations on the same theme. Moreover, these three vehicles made Bertone and Franco Scaglione world famous.

Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 5

It is difficult to imagine the effect that the B.A.T. 5 had on the public at the Turin Motor Show during its world premiere in 1953. Even those who learned of its existence through car magazines, therefore somewhat delayed, may have rubbed their eyes in amazement. To understand this, one only has to take a look at European production cars of the same year. Next to the ubiquitous Volkswagen, Fiat had the 500 called ‘Topolino’, Mercedes-Benz had the 170 S, which still looked like a pre-war car, and the 220 and BMW had the 501 with a six-cylinder engine. Customers had to wait a few more years for exciting sports cars such as the 300 SL ‘Gullwing’, the BMW 507 or the Ferrari 250 GT. Only the Fiat 8V was available at some dealerships, but remained rare.

The basic idea behind the B.A.T. projects was to significantly reduce air resistance and thus achieve higher speeds with identical engine power. Scaglione worked out his ideas on four clay models on a scale of 1:1, before having his final designs built from sheet metal by the Bertone coachbuilders and mounted on an Alfa chassis. For this reason, this first publicly displayed concept car bears the number 5. The pontoon-shaped, slightly overhanging front fenders are joined centrally by a rounded nose. Between the nose and the fenders there are air inlets with horizontal grids on both sides, which were highlighted red during a later restoration.

To represent the low, Bertone moved the carburettor system of the Alfa Romeo 1900 to the side of the engine. Behind the engine room is a drop-shaped passenger cell with a lot of glazed area, which ends in a point at the rear. On the rear fenders, large inwardly curved fins ensure that the airflow is well directed. Front and rear covers are used in front of the wheels to further reduce air resistance. A special detail are the headlights, which fold out from the inside of the front fenders at the touch of a button. Despite a relatively low engine output of only around 80 hp, this prototype achieved a top speed of 198.9 kph (123.6 mph) in tests thanks to its good aerodynamics.

Inside, the B.A.T. 5 offers space for two people on sports seats specially designed by Scaglione. Three large and two smaller round instruments are located behind the steering wheel. There are only six switches and the gearshift, nothing more. A car cockpit could hardly be clearer. In October 1953 Bertone sold the unique car to Stanley ‘Wacky’ Arnolt, their US importer, who showed it at several Herb Shriner Auto Shows throughout the country. After repainting the car to a darker silver color, Mr. Arnolt used it privately for several years, but also exhibited it repeatedly at his Hoosier International Motors showroom in Warsaw, Indiana. In 1956 he sold the one-off to his friend Joe Prysak in South Bend, who had it hung under the ceiling in his company building and kept it for 30 years. In 1987, Said Marouf from La Jolla, California, bought the Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 5, had it restored for a year and then won its class at the 1988 Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance.

Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 7

The gates of the 1953 Turin Motor Show hadn’t yet closed completely, when Bertone already started work on a new, wilder successor. Spurred on by the international success of the original, Franco Scaglione wanted to set new standards. A direct comparison between B.A.T. 5 and B.A.T. 7 reveals various similarities, but also new details. For example, the fold-out headlights moved into the central nose. The front air intakes are narrower, allowing the hood to be lowered by full five centimeters (two inches). The outlets behind the front wheels are larger. A third air guiding fin sits on the separation between the two rear windows, while the outer fins have been made even larger and more curved. Overall, Scaglione succeeded in reducing the air resistance even further.

Since the work on B.A.T. 7 took longer than originally planned, Franco Scaglione and Nuccio Bertone finally had to drive the car to the 1954 Turin Motor Show themselves on the night before the opening. There, and especially after the show, the new one-off attracted even more attention than its predecessor model and even made it to the cover of the ‘Automobil Revue’ in Switzerland. The car itself was bought by Alfa Romeo in January 1955 and sent to the USA to be exhibited on the factory stands at the motor shows in New York and Chicago. Afterwards Al Williams, an Alfa enthusiast from San Francisco, bought the B.A.T. 7 through the Alfa importer Charles Rezzaghi.

In March 1955 he took part in the SCCA races in Palm Springs with this car. Al Williams then had the side fins removed, as they significantly restricted the all-round visibility in road traffic. Three years later, the new owner Ken Shaff presented the car, which had been repainted in the meantime to sand beige and black, at the Concours d’Elegance in Pebble Beach. In the early 1960s, the new owner Col. James Sorrell brought the Alfa to the Van Nuys Shop of Sal di Natale for restoration work. At that time, this company was considered to be one of the best for rare Italian cars on the US West Coast. However, he never paid for the work done and also never collected the sports car, so in 1969 di Natale took legal action to claim ownership of the car. It wasn’t unitl 17 years later that he sold the one-off to a private customer, under whose supervision the car was completely restored for two years and the fins reconstructed.

Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 9

Franco Scaglione started work again from the end of 1954 on another concept car based on an Alfa Romeo 1900 to complete the B.A.T. theme. In contrast to the first two versions, however, he now gave additional thought to how the typical Alfa design could be incorporated into this draft in order to achieve a certain family resemblance. In addition, Alfa Romeo, as the company that delivered the technical donor parts, had asked that the new study be more suitable for everyday use. The rear fins therefore were significantly reduced in size and the covers in front of the rear wheels were removed. Next to that, the concept car, officially called B.A.T. 9d, for the first time showed headlights under clear glass covers and the typical Alfa radiator shield in the nose.

Following its debut at the Turin Motor Show in 1955, this car also crossed the Atlantic Ocean to the USA. There it appeared in March 1956 in the parking lot of an endurance race in Sebring. There the car dealer Harry Woodnorth from Chicago saw the B.A.T. 9d and waited together with Tom Barrett for the owner to buy it from him. One year later Barrett sold his shares in the car to Woodnorth and again one year laterthe unique car went to Ed Beseler in Lansing, Michigan, who had it repainted to red. After his death, Arlen Regis bought the car from his estate and displayed it at his Captain Motors dealership in Greenville, Michigan.

In 1962, Gary Kaberle, who was only 16 years old at the time, discovered the Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 9 there and subsequently begged Arlen Regis to sell him the car. Finally he emptied a gym bag full of money on the car dealer’s desk and received the keys and papers. For the next 28 years, Kaberle kept the Alfa and used it as an everyday car on his way to university, which he completed with a doctorate. In 1987 Dr. Kaberle received an invitation to the Meadow Brook Concours d’Elegance and therefore had the body of the B.A.T. 9d painted in fresh silver.

Although these three concept cars visually build on each other and together represent one of the most important trios in automotive history, they were never exhibited together by Bertone or Alfa Romeo when they were new. This only happened after 1987, when all three cars were privately owned by car collectors in the USA. Organizers of important Concours events soon dreamed of bringing these three cars together. When Nuccio Bertone visited the California Art Center College of Design in Pasadena in 1989 to receive an honorary doctorate, the planners of the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance invited all three cars with their owners as well as the aged design company boss from Italy. Bertone told some unheard anecdotes from his time with Franco Scaglione.

At the same event, a private car collector made an offer to each of the three car owners, thus uniting all three B.A.T. versions in one collection for the first time. In the early 1990s he sent the cars to Italy for the Genoa Autostory 1992, where Nuccio Bertone’s 80th birthday was celebrated. At the beginning of 1993 the three one-offs were also on display at the Retromobile in Paris. They spent the following decade at the Blackhawk Museum in Danville, California. Again and again they also came to special events such as Pebble Beach 2005, the Concorso Italiano 2009, Goodwood or the Concorso d’Eleganza at the Villa d’Este.

Now RM Sotheby’s is offering all three Alfa Romeo Bertone B.A.T. vehicles together at an auction in New York on October 28. The Canadian auction house hasn’t yet made any statements regarding the expected hammer price.

Images: RM Sotheby’s, Darin Schnabel, The Klemantaski Collection

Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 5, 7 & 9

In den 1950er Jahren begann die Blütezeit von wilden Konzeptfahrzeugen. Neben den Amerikanern waren es vor allem italienische Designhäuser, die ohne Rücksicht auf Serienchancen und Kosten auf diese Weise ihre Zukunftsideen für das Automobil in Blech und Kunststoff ausdrückten. Drei besondere Exemplare stammten von Bertone und debütierten auf dem Turiner Autosalon in den Jahren 1953, 1954 und 1955. Unter der Leitung des damaligen Chefdesigners Franco Scaglione entstanden die Studien B.A.T. 5, B.A.T. 7 und B.A.T. 9 jeweils auf Basis des damals aktuellen Alfa Romeo 1900C. Die Abkürzung B.A.T. stand dabei für Berlina Aerodinamica Tecnica, also grob übersetzt aerodynamische und technische Ideen für die Limousine von morgen (oder übermorgen). Erstaunlicherweise wirkt dieses Trio selbst heute, 65 Jahre nach der Premiere des B.A.T. 9, immer noch stimmig und keinesfalls unmodern. Es ist ein automobiles Tryptichon, das nur komplett seine volle Wirkung entfaltet, da es Variationen des gleichen Themas sind. Zudem machten diese drei Fahrzeuge Bertone und Franco Scaglione weltbekannt.

Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 5

Man kann sich den Effekt wohl nur schwerlich vorstellen, den der B.A.T. 5 bei seiner Weltpremiere 1953 auf das Messepublikum ausübte. Auch diejenigen, die über Automagazine etwas zeitverzögert von seiner Existenz erfuhren, dürften sich verwundert die Augen gerieben haben. Um das zu verstehen, muss man nur mal einen Blick auf europäische Serienautos des gleichen Jahrgangs werfen. Neben dem überall präsenten Volkswagen gab es bei Fiat den ‚Topolino‘ genannten 500, bei Mercedes-Benz den noch eher an die Vorkriegszeit erinnernden 170 S sowie den 220 und bei BMW den ‚Barockengel‘ 501 mit Sechszylindermotor. Auf aufregende Sportwagen wie den 300 SL Flügeltürer, den BMW 507 oder den Ferrari 250 GT mussten Kunden noch einige Jahre warten, einzig der Fiat 8V stand bei einigen Händlern bereit, blieb jedoch selten.

Die grundsätzliche Idee hinter den B.A.T.-Projekten war es, den Luftwiderstand deutlich zu verringern und damit bei identischer Motorleistung höhere Geschwindigkeiten zu erreichen. Scaglione erarbeitete seine Ideen an vier Tonmodellen im Maßstab 1:1, bevor er seine finalen Formen von den Bertone-Karosseriebauern aus Blech nachbauen und auf ein Alfa-Fahrgestell montieren ließ. Aus diesem Grund trägt diese erste öffentlich gezeigte Studie die Ziffer 5. Zu den pontonförmigen, leicht überhängenden vorderen Kotflügeln gesellt sich zentral eine abgerundete Nase. Jeweils zwischen Nase und Kotflügel tun sich auf beiden Seiten Lufteinlässe mit waagerechten Gittern auf, die bei einer späteren Restaurierung rot hervorgehoben wurden.

Um die niedrige Motorhaube darstellen zu können, verlegte Bertone die Vergaseranlage des Alfa Romeo 1900 seitlich neben den Motor. Hinter dem Maschinenraum schließt sich eine tropfenförmige Fahrgastzelle mit viel verglaster Fläche an, die hinten in einer Spitze ausläuft. Auf den hinteren Kotflügeln sorgen große, nach innen geschwungene Finnen für eine gezielte Führung des Fahrtwinds. Vorn und hinten kommen Abdeckungen vor den Rädern zum Einsatz, um den Luftwiderstand weiter zu senken. Ein besonderes Detail sind die Scheinwerfer, die auf Knopfdruck innen aus den vorderen Kotflügeln ausklappen. Trotz einer relativ geringen Motorleistung von lediglich rund 80 PS erreichte dieser Prototyp dank seiner guten Aerodynamik bei Tests eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 198,9 km/h.

Innen bietet der B.A.T. 5 Platz für zwei Personen auf von Scaglione speziell gestalteten Sportsitzen. Hinter dem Lenkrad sitzen drei große und zwei kleine Rundinstrumente. Dazu kommen lediglich sechs Schalter und der Schalthebel, mehr nicht. Übersichtlicher kann ein Autocockpit kaum sein. Im Oktober 1953 verkaufte Bertone das Einzelstück an Stanley ‚Wacky‘ Arnolt, den hauseigenen US-Importeur, der es auf einigen Autoshows von Herb Shriner im ganzen Land zeigte. Nach einer Umlackierung in ein dunkleres Silber nutzte Mr. Arnolt den Wagen einige Jahre privat, stellte ihn jedoch auch immer wieder in seinem Hoosier International Motors Showroom in Warsaw, Indiana, aus. 1956 verkaufte er das Unikat an seinen Freund Joe Prysak in South Bend, der es unter der Decke in seinem Firmengebäude aufhängen ließ und 30 Jahre lang beließ. 1987 kaufte Said Marouf aus La Jolla, Kalifornien, den Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 5, ließ ihn ein Jahr lang restaurieren und gewann damit anschließend seine Klasse beim Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance 1988.

Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 7

Die Tore des Turiner Autosalons 1953 hatten sich noch nicht ganz geschlossen, da starteten bei Bertone bereits die Arbeiten an einem neuen, wilderen Nachfolger. Angestachelt vom internationalen Erfolg des Originals wollte Franco Scaglione neue Maßstäbe setzen. Im direkten Vergleich zeigen sich zwischen B.A.T. 5 und B.A.T. 7 diverse Ähnlichkeiten, allerdings auch neue Details. So wanderten die ausklappbaren Scheinwerfer in die zentrale Nase. Die vorderen Lufteinlässe sind schmaler, wodurch die Motorhaube um volle fünf Zentimeter abgesenkt werden konnte. Die Auslässe hinter den Vorderrädern fallen hingegen größer aus. Auf der Trennung zwischen den beiden Heckscheiben sitzt eine dritte Luftleitfinne, während die äußeren Finnen noch größer und noch geschwungener gestaltet wurden. Insgesamt gelang es Scaglione, den Luftwiderstand noch weiter abzusenken.

Da die Arbeiten am B.A.T. 7 länger dauerten, als ursprünglich geplant, mussten Franco Scaglione und Nuccio Bertone den Wagen schließlich eigens in der Nacht vor der Eröffnung zum Turiner Autosalon 1954 fahren. Dort und vor allem im Anschluss an die Messe errang das neue Unikat noch mehr Aufmerksamkeit als sein Vorgängermodell und schaffte es sogar auf die Titelseite der ‚Automobil Revue‘ in der Schweiz. Das Auto selbst kaufte im Januar 1955 Alfa Romeo und schickte es in die USA, um auf den Werksständen der Motorshows in New York und Chicago zu stehen. Anschließend kaufte Al Williams, ein Alfa-Enthusiast aus San Francisco, den B.A.T. 7 über den Alfa-Importeur Charles Rezzaghi.

Im März 1955 nahm er damit am SCCA-Rennen in Palm Springs teil. In der Folgezeit ließ Al Williams die Seitenfinnen entfernen, da sie die Rundumsicht im Straßenverkehr deutlich einschränkten. Drei Jahre später präsentierte der neue Besitzer Ken Shaff den Wagen, der zwischenzeitlich auf Sandbeige und Schwarz zweifarbig umlackiert worden war, beim Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance. Zu Beginn der 1960er Jahre brachte der neue Besitzer Col. James Sorrell den Alfa für Restaurierungsarbeiten in den Van Nuys Shop von Sal di Natale, der damals als absoluter Experte für seltene italienische Autos an der US-Westküste galt. Allerdings bezahlte er niemals für die geleisteten Arbeiten und holte den Sportwagen auch nicht ab, sodass di Natale 1969 gerichtlich die Eigentumsrechte an dem Auto einfordern ließ. Erst 17 Jahre später verkaufte er das Unikat an einen privaten Sammler weiter, unter dessen Anleitung das Auto zwei Jahre lang komplett restauriert und die Finnen rekonstruiert wurden.

Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 9

Franco Scaglione machte sich ab Ende 1954 noch einmal daran, auf Basis eines Alfa Romeo 1900 eine Konzeptstudie zu erstellen, die das B.A.T.-Thema abschließen sollte. Im Gegensatz zu den ersten beiden Versionen machte er sich nun jedoch zusätzlich Gedanken dazu, wie sich das typische Alfa-Design in diesen Entwurf einarbeiten ließe, um eine gewisse Familienähnlichkeit zu erreichen. Zudem hatte Alfa Romeo als Technikspender darum gebeten, dass die neue Studie alltagstauglicher sein möge. So reduzierte man die Heckflossen deutlich in ihrer Größe und entfernte die Abdeckungen vor den Hinterrädern. Zudem zeigt die offiziell B.A.T. 9d genannte Studie erstmals Scheinwerfer unter Klarglasabdeckungen und das Alfa-Kühlerschild in der Nase.

Im Anschluss an das Messedebüt auf dem Turiner Salon 1955 wechselte auch dieser Wagen auf die andere Seite des Atlantischen Ozeans in die USA. Dort tauchte er im März 1956 auf dem Parkplatz eines Langstreckenrennens in Sebring auf. Dort erblickte der Autohändler Harry Woodnorth aus Chicago den B.A.T. 9d und wartete gemeinsam mit Tom Barrett auf den Besitzer, um ihm diesen abzukaufen. Ein Jahr später verkaufte Barrett seine Anteile an Woodnorth und nochmal ein Jahr später ging das Unikat an Ed Beseler in Lansing, Michigan, der das Einzelstück rot lackieren ließ. Nach seinem Tod kaufte Arlen Regis das Auto aus dem Nachlass und stellte es in seinem Autohaus Captain Motors in Greenville, Michigan, aus.

1962 entdeckte der gerade erst 16-jährige Gary Kaberle den Alfa Romeo B.A.T. 9d dort und bekniete in der Folgezeit Arlen Regis, ihm diesen Wagen zu verkaufen. Schließlich leerte er eine Sporttasche voller Geld auf dem Schreibtisch des Autohändlers aus und erhielt die Schlüssel und Papiere. In den folgenden 28 Jahren behielt Kaberle den Alfa und nutzte ihn als Alltagsauto auf dem Weg zum Studium, das er mit einem Doktortitel abschloss. 1987 erhielt Dr. Kaberle eine Einladung zum Meadow Brook Concours d’Elegance und ließ hierfür die Karosserie des B.A.T. 9d in frischem Silber lackieren.

Obwohl diese drei Konzeptfahrzeuge optisch aufeinander aufbauen und gemeinsam eines der wichtigsten Trios der Automobilgeschichte darstellen, wurden sie von Bertone und Alfa Romeo niemals gemeinsam ausgestellt. Dies geschah erst nach 1987, als alle drei Fahrzeuge in Privatbesitz von Autosammlern in den USA waren. Organisatoren von bedeutenden Concours-Veranstaltungen träumten bald davon, die drei Unikate zusammenzubringen. Als Nuccio Bertone 1989 das California Art Center College of Design in Pasadena besuchte, um eine Ehrendoktorwürde zu erhalten, luden die Planer des Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance alle drei Fahrzeuge mit ihren Besitzern und den gealterten Designfirmenchef aus Italien ein. Bertone erzählte vor Ort einige Anekdoten aus seiner Zeit mit Franco Scaglione.

Bei der gleichen Veranstaltung machte ein privater Autosammler jedem der drei Fahrzeugbesitzer ein Angebot und vereinigte damit erstmalig alle drei B.A.T.-Versionen in einer Garage. Anfang der 1990er Jahre schickte er die Wagen nach Italien zur Genoa Autostory 1992, wo der 80. Geburtstag von Nuccio Bertone gefeiert wurde. Anfang 1993 standen die drei Unikate auf der Retromobile in Paris. Das folgende Jahrzehnt verbrachten sie im Blackhawk Museum in Danville, Kalifornien. Immer wieder kamen sie zudem zu besonderen Veranstaltungen wie Pebble Beach 2005, dem Concorso Italiano 2009, Goodwood oder dem Concorso d’Eleganza an der Villa d’Este.

Nun bietet RM Sotheby’s alle drei Alfa Romeo Bertone B.A.T.-Fahrzeuge gemeinsam bei einer Auktion am 28. Oktober in New York an. Zum erwarteten Zuschlagspreis machte das kanadische Auktionshaus noch keine Angaben.

Bilder: RM Sotheby’s, Darin Schnabel, The Klemantaski Collection